Hot Cocoa Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Yummy! Added Vanilla Carmel creamer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I made this with my Best Friends 4 year old daughter and she said it was the Bestest Ever!!! We filled jars to give to give out and she made sure there was one for her too!!! Thanks Earla!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terry6pak

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Decadent hot chocolate mix--especially if you follow a few other reviewer's suggestions. Definitely put the powdered milk through the food processor--it makes all the difference. I increased the (Hershey)cocoa to 2 cups & used flavored non-dairy creamer, but left the powdered sugar the same. (I do not care for super sweet.) This made a rich, smooth cocoa that certainly gives the very expensive stuff a run for its money! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Just got done making this and it is so good! I took advice of others and ran the milk powder through my food processor - worked great. I also increased sugar to 5 1/2 cups (was afraid to make it to sweet) and since a lot of people said it wasn't chocolaty enough used 1c. unsweetened hershey's and 1c. special dark hershey's cocoa and I think it is just right. Since I had to sift the sugar (1c. at a time) I sifted the cocoa as well and the end result is extremely smooth no clumps at all it was worth the extra time which really wasn't all that muchI also used the whole container of creamer since it was 15oz (no need to measure). Also WARNING: make sure you use a stock pot or larger! i used my stock pot to mix and the whole time wishing i had something bigger it makes a TON. Can't wait to try with different flavored creamers- this time I used cinnamon vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherryebomb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
i have been looking for this recipe for years!!! this is what my ma used to make for us all the time!! she made huge batches of it. we grew up by lake michigan, and there's a bunch of us. perfect and fast for when you're done playing in snow drifts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This recipe is awsome and very versetile. I've made it several times using different flavored creamer and I've also made it with various spices added (cinnamon, clove or pumpkin pie spice) And I always grind the dry milk powder in the blender and sift the confectioners sugar. The mix seems to disolve much better in the water and the results are creamier. Everyone I share this with loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was an okay place to start, however I wound up doubling the cocoa and almost doubling the sugar for it to be as sweet as we like. With those changes, it turned out okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DYMPLES805

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I made a reduced calorie version with a couple changes. I used 2 cups of creamer, 2 cups of cocoa 1 dark 1 regular. Then I replaced the sugar with Splenda, while not totally sugar free (thanks to the milk and creamer) it's as close as I could get and it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was pretty good. I made it last year to give out at Christmas in small decorated jars. I printed directions to make one cup on small squares of card stock, punched a hole in one corner of the square, and tied it to the lid with pretty red ribbon. I used cinnamon creamer and added a little Nesquik as another reviewer suggested. My mother-in-law said it tasted better when heated with milk instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
It's ok, a bit bitter though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States