Hot Cocoa Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I was really surprised how good this was. To be honest, I think I prefer store-bought cocoa, but this was quite tasty and made an excellent homemade gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Love it! Very easy to mix up and give as treats for Christmas. I added crushed up little bits of peppermint candy canes to the mix and it gave it a nice holiday flavor. I also used Hersheys Dark Chocolate Cocoa instead of the plain and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadieandleo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This recipe was a really good base recipe for the cocoa I had wanted. To make it richer I added more cocoa powder and more powdered sugar. It was a hit! The people I gave it to said it was the best they've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Absolutely fabulous!! I used the exact ingredients but obviously the measurements can be altered and still produce wonderful results. I cut the recipe in half and only roughly measured the ingredients. My test cup tasted great even though I thought 1/3 cup of mix would be too much. It was perfect for a small cup of cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Arce
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I also tweaked the recipe... made it in my FOOD PROCESSOR (love that thing!) Here is the winning combination: 4 cups dry milk, 2 cups of the Cinnamon Vanilla Coffee Mate, 1-1/4 unsweetened cocoa powder, 1-1/4 regular white sugar, and since it was a cinnamon flavor I did add 2 tsp of a really good cinnamon! VOILA! Perfect for hostess gifts or for our friends! We all enjoy it and I didn't find it too sweet this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREGOCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This is fantastic! I used CoffeeMate's Creamy Chocolate flavored creamer. My son and I just each had a cup. I stirred in a Mint Truffle Hershey's Kiss and my son stirred in a Candy Cane Hershey's Kiss. Delicious! Thanks for sharing, Earla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This is the best hot cocoa mix I have ever had. I did follow the recommendations from the other post. I made it in a half batch with the following measures: 1-1/2 C Hershey's Cocoa Powder 3 C Powdered Sugar 5 C Powdered Milk 1 C Powdered Creamer. I will be keeping this on hand always. No more packages for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I have to agree with some of the other reviews that this wasn't sweet enough for me. I added regular sugar to it to taste and it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Great recipe as good as it gets,with milk prices low this is a value
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
First tip, use a large turkey baking bag to mix it in. Just place all ingredients in the bag, tie it off and shake, shake shake. Keeps the powdered sugar from getting on all flat surfaces in your kitchen! I also use hot cocoa mix instead of cocoa powder, it makes for a really rich mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilmer, Texas, USA
Living In: Berne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States