Hot Cocoa Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
A winter staple of ours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I was looking for a recipe to replace the Swiss Miss packets that I had been buying. As written the recipe is good, but don't expect it to taste like a boxed store bought hot chocolate. To really make it delicious I added a handful of marshmallows to each cup... yum! Now, I know hot chocolate and marshmallows just kinda of go together, but I never really noticed a difference when I put mm in my swiss miss hot choc. In THIS one the whole drink becomes creamy and just amazing. Worth a try if you are looking for a great homemade recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Sorry, but I am a cocoa snob. I found this recipe as it is watery & bland. I added more cocoa powder & a lot more powdered milk as well as creamer to the mix before I was done. I am thankful to the submitter for a starting place. I am working with this recipe to make a hot chocolate recipe that is perfect for me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muddyh2os

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
After reading the recipe and a bunch of reviews I *really* wanted some hot chocolate, but didn't have all the ingredients so I modified it and while it needs tweaking it helped curb the crave. :) Thank you for getting me started!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of 3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This is a very good base to start from. As opposed to some other reviewers I found that the mix was too watery. I added another 2 cups of powdered milk and another cup of creamer and it was rich and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This is the recipe I remember as a cild, just now I use Splenda instead due to health issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATHYDP464

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olton, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
As another member suggested...run the dry milk powder thru a food processor to make it finer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I made this for the first time tonight. My husband and I both enjoyed it very much. I am going to be putting it in mason jars and giving it as gifts to my sons teachers for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I made it exactly according to the recipe and it was too milky with not enough sugar or cocoa. I think that next time I will decrease the amount of powdered milk--hopefully that will help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
As is, I find it a little bland for my taste. An extra 1/2 cup of powdered sugar, 1/4 cup of cocoa powder, 1 1/2 tsp. salt and 1 tsp. cinnamon did wonders for it in my house - we can't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States