Hot Cocoa Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I give this recipe 4 stars just for the fact that I did take some of the advices from other reviewers! I did had some cocoa AND some confectioner's sugar. I ended up with creamy cocoa :) Yum! I will give some to my relatives during the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
****update**** I used dark unseetened cocoa powder on our most recent batch and was so much better! I'd give this recipe a 4.5 stars if I could. It's really good, but just missing something that would make it great. I add a little cinnamon and cayanne to give it something different. If you like a more rich chocholate taste, you'll need to add a lot more than listed. I'll never buy store bought cocoa again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Good, but not sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missylou

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Perkinston, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This is delicious. I've tried a few different recipes and this is my favorite so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I intended to make a half recipe but didn't really read the recipe before I went to the store. I bought a small box of powdered milk so that was not really enough for half the recipe. Turns out it was plenty enough of powdered milk taste for me. I started out with about a cup and a quarter of Penzeys Natural High Fat Cocoa, (Strong, dark chocolate flavor) and ended up adding probably 3/4 cup Hersheys as well, then tossed in maybe 8 oz of Ghirardelli sweet ground chocolate and cocoa. Tweeked up the powdered sugar also but not by much, dd doesn't like it too sweet. I made a sample cup and was still not very impressed so I added 1/8 teaspoon vanilla and a dash of salt and it got a whole lot better. Dd loved it, said she liked it a LOT better than the scratch cocoa I made the other day off the Hersheys can. She is the one who will be drinking it so all is well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This was not a keeper for me, even after following some of the tips of other reviewers. I did not use Hersey Cocoa so that may be the factor. It wasnt sweet enough or chocolaty enough. I will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
My confectioners sugar doesn't dissolve well in this. My first batch was too watery & not nearly chocolate enough. So for the next batch I used half the milk & kept all the other proportions the same. The creamer and milk together make a nice thick texture when the proportions are right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I love to have hot cocoa mix on hand during the cold months. For mine, I added 1/2 regular creamer & half vanilla caramel creamer. If we are in the mood for a mocha drink, I'll add a bit of instant coffee to each mug. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I used 2 cups of cocoa and 6 cups of powdered sugar and it made wonderful cocoa. I'm going to be making this again, I'll send a batch with my daughter when she goes back to school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATHYADKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Following other reviewer suggestions (sorry, never tried the actual recipe), I think that this is very good. I made half the recipe twice--it's easier so that it fits in the bowls. 5 c. (ground) dry milk, 1 c. Hershey's dark cocoa powder, 3 c. powdered sugar 1 c. coffeemate cinnamon, 2 Tbsp. cinnamon. It has a really nice, rich flavor. However, because it uses coffeemate, this doesn't really reduce the not-so-good-for-you ingredients that are found in store-bought hot chocolate. So, I don't really know if it's worth the trouble to make your own (I gave it out as Christmas gifts).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States