Hot Cocoa Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I made a reduced calorie version with a couple changes. I used 2 cups of creamer, 2 cups of cocoa 1 dark 1 regular. Then I replaced the sugar with Splenda, while not totally sugar free (thanks to the milk and creamer) it's as close as I could get and it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was pretty good. I made it last year to give out at Christmas in small decorated jars. I printed directions to make one cup on small squares of card stock, punched a hole in one corner of the square, and tied it to the lid with pretty red ribbon. I used cinnamon creamer and added a little Nesquik as another reviewer suggested. My mother-in-law said it tasted better when heated with milk instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
It's ok, a bit bitter though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I give this recipe 4 stars just for the fact that I did take some of the advices from other reviewers! I did had some cocoa AND some confectioner's sugar. I ended up with creamy cocoa :) Yum! I will give some to my relatives during the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
****update**** I used dark unseetened cocoa powder on our most recent batch and was so much better! I'd give this recipe a 4.5 stars if I could. It's really good, but just missing something that would make it great. I add a little cinnamon and cayanne to give it something different. If you like a more rich chocholate taste, you'll need to add a lot more than listed. I'll never buy store bought cocoa again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Good, but not sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Primes Rayburn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Perkinston, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This is delicious. I've tried a few different recipes and this is my favorite so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I intended to make a half recipe but didn't really read the recipe before I went to the store. I bought a small box of powdered milk so that was not really enough for half the recipe. Turns out it was plenty enough of powdered milk taste for me. I started out with about a cup and a quarter of Penzeys Natural High Fat Cocoa, (Strong, dark chocolate flavor) and ended up adding probably 3/4 cup Hersheys as well, then tossed in maybe 8 oz of Ghirardelli sweet ground chocolate and cocoa. Tweeked up the powdered sugar also but not by much, dd doesn't like it too sweet. I made a sample cup and was still not very impressed so I added 1/8 teaspoon vanilla and a dash of salt and it got a whole lot better. Dd loved it, said she liked it a LOT better than the scratch cocoa I made the other day off the Hersheys can. She is the one who will be drinking it so all is well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This was not a keeper for me, even after following some of the tips of other reviewers. I did not use Hersey Cocoa so that may be the factor. It wasnt sweet enough or chocolaty enough. I will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
My confectioners sugar doesn't dissolve well in this. My first batch was too watery & not nearly chocolate enough. So for the next batch I used half the milk & kept all the other proportions the same. The creamer and milk together make a nice thick texture when the proportions are right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States