Hot Cocoa Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I made this recently for the holidays and followed the recipe to a "T". I'm sorry to say that it just was not that good. This was my first attempt at making hot cocoa mix, in the past I've always bought the packages. From the reviews I was expecting it to be so much better than the store bought but this didn't even come close. My kids won't even drink it. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
It was good. But not to much different than store bought. and MUCH more expensive to make rather than buy. The dry milk (at least around me) is $13 a box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ballston Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This is similar to a recipe I used to make years ago. I did pour in a whole container of dark chocolate cocoa though instead of 1 3/4 cups. I added some mini chocolate chips. Everyone loves it! I didn't blend anything or put it through the processor, it still works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Not good as written...tastes like watery cream. I had to doctor this one up ALOT to get it to taste good. :o(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Ive used this recipe for years..increase the powdered sugar and I've also used Hersheys Special dark cocoa..I agree it makes it richer...another suggestion is adding mini-chocolate chips ( they melt with hot water!) for the families with little ones...and Ive added a vanilla bean to mix!! Yum! I Have ALWAYS used a new kitchen trash bag...twist it shut and flip around until well mixed....its the only way mess-free way to combine..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyg35

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I followed a few suggestions and I think this is now an excellent recipe. I sifted the milk powder to ensure there would be no clumps. I increased the powdered sugar to 7 cups and used vanilla non-dairy creamer. We crushed peppermints and layered the chocolate mix, peppermints and marshmallows and gave these out as gifts to my dd cross country friends. If you are going to layer this, put a piece of parchment in between the layers if you want it to look asthestically pleasing. i wish I had thought of this prior to assembling all those jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
4 Stars but when taking some others' suggestions- TOTALLY 5 STARS! 10 C Non-fat Dry Milk 6 C Powedered Sugar 2 C Hershey's Cocoa 2 C Non-Dairy Extra Rich (WalMart-Great Value Brand this time) Creamer WONDERFUL....Creamy.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kalona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
made as listed. Put ALL POWDERED MILK through food processor to pulverize the milk. Add 1tsp salt. seemed sweet, try ( 4 1/2c. powd. sugar or increase cocoa to 2c.? ) Now added the additional cocoa to make it 2c. on same day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
It was so good!!! Melting in your mouth! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyt
Home Town: Wendell, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This recipe is great just the way it is. This is the first Hot Cocoa mix that my husband will actually drink. We did try using both regular cocoa powder and Hershey's Special Dark cocoa powder, and we liked the dark cocoa best. This is what our family is getting this year for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coffeyville, Kansas, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States