Hot Cocoa Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Made a huge batch due to the great reviews. It tasted so bland that I was hesitant on giving this out. The people I did give it to, said nothing about it and the rest ended up in the garbage. HUGE waste of ingredients on my part. I guess I am just used to drinking more flavorful cocoa than this. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
I made this with just a few changes...one being to add instant coffee and make Hot Mocha Mix. It's definitley best on those cold East Coast mornings. Thankx Earla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
I took other reviewers advice and added 1 cup more cocoa to original recipe. It wasn't chocolate enough for us, but 2 cups to the original did the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
This was the perfect finishing touch to give with my Christmas cookie gifts this year! Not too sweet and tastes wonderful (made exactly as the recipe states)!! I found the perfect holiday containers and put miniture marshmallows at the top of the cocoa mix in the container! Got rave reviews and made an extra batch to keep around the house, too! I noticed that the recipe has been amended to show the amount of creamer than the one I printed in 2001! LOL I was measuring the creamer with a food scale -- much easier now knowing that it's 1 3/4 cups of creamer! Thanks for sharing your recipe, Earla!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
I made this for stocking stuffer-type gifts for my extended family. I had to add *a lot* of extra sugar to get this to taste sweet enough for me--pretty much a whole bag of sugar. I also added extra french vanilla-flavored creamer. Once I played with the ratio of ingredients for awhile, I finally got the mix to where I wanted it. All in all, I think this recipe is a good starting point for someone looking to make a cocoa mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
So creamy! Better than the hot cocoa envelopes. I took other readers' suggestions & used 3 cups of chocolate drink mix, and added 1/4 c. cocoa and the results were wonderful. Am giving this as gifts this Christmas. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
Great cup of hot cocoa! I put mixture into 6 decorated pint jars. It made a cute little gift idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
This is great! I followed a few of the suggestions and the mix turned out better than store bought. Thank you Earla for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
This is okay but I was hoping for something tasting a little more like the mix you can buy in the store. I didnt think it was creamy enough so next time I will add another 1 3/4 cup of the creamer and reduce the powdered milk by that much. I also didnt think it was quite sweet enough so I will also double the amount of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatarat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paragonah, Utah, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
Very good! I bought 50 small Christmas canning jars with handles and added this mix with an instruction card for my employees. They all loved it! Very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 151-160 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States