Hot Cocoa Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I had a recipe for years and lost it so I tryed this one. It was very good my kids and hubby liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This cocoa is awesome! I give it as a present in jars every year. All of my family is always asking if they will get some. One year I used granulated sugar instead, and it was just as good! I highly recommend this recipe. This year I am making a batch with cinnamon flavored creamer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I started by making 1/3 of the original recipe, 15 servings, which made the making much more managable. You do need a large bowl even to mix this amount. The powdered sugar causes this recipe to dissolve quickly in the hot cup of water which I like. I find the light taste fine just as the recipe is but I did add more cocoa and a little more sugar to my final batch before sending it out into the gift basket. I'm not sure it really made a difference. Most hot cocoa recipes call for equal amounts of granulated sugar and cocoa, I assume the confectioners sugar in this one made up for the difference between the other recipes. It is an individual taste you can play with in a smaller batch to get the flavor you want. I enclosed cinnamon stirring sticks with mine rather than to put cinnamon in the mix. But I will try cinnamon in a cup myself to test the flavor. All in all I will make this again it was easy and the flavor was very acceptable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
I had made this for Christmas for gifts....everyone absolutley loved BUT to me you have to add a little more of the mix for it to be sweet enough and that to me is allot of sugar. But it was still awesome tasting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
I made a lot of the changes that other reviewers made and this is so delicious. It was a top seller at a craft fair- especially because I was giving out cups of it first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
Good recipe. Works well with milk. I like to add mini-marshmallows in the mix. Also I add a bit more sugar to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
Could have used more sugar, not the best I ever had but o.k..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
The recipe is good, though I thought it was missing something. I added a little extra cocoa and sugar, plus a tsp salt. But it turns out the trick is to add the mix to boiling or really hot milk - makes it SO rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Before trying this mix, I was a religious Swiss Miss drinker. This mix has beaten the Swiss Miss without question. It is the best hot chocolate you'll ever drink. It is so creamy and delicious that you'll keep wanting more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
Good base recipe but as noted by other reviewers, definitely needed some tweaking to be really flavorful. I thought it needed to be more chocolaty as well as a bit sweeter; I therefore took the advice of another reviewer and added about 2 c of Nestle Quik. I also added 3 t of cinnamon which really added a good twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States