Hot Cocoa Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Thank you so much for this recipe. It is exactly what I was looking for. What a great way to avoid store packaged products. When we go backpacking we put a few scoops in a baggie and throw in some chocolate chips. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I have to say this recipe as it stands is not good. It's very watery and not nearly sweet enough as I've noticed most reviewers comment on. Sorry Earla. That being said, I think I managed to perfect it. I made it in a half batch with the following measures: 1-1/2 C Hershey's Cocoa Powder 3 C Powdered Sugar 5 C Powdered Milk 1 C Powdered Creamer (I find Borden's is the best) To make some fab modifications that will really knock their socks off, try adding 2 tsp ground cinnamon to the mix for Mexican Hot Chocolate. Or for a more festive variety, reduce the sugar by 1/2 cup, then powder 12 candy canes in the blender and add into the mix for a nice Candy Cane Cocoa! My husband loves this one so much, I can't seem to get any out for gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
475 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This was not chocolatey enough for me, it was creamy white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
I made 2 seperate batches of this mix with 2 different types of cocoa and they both came out very different. Surprisingly, Hershey's cocoa yielded a richer, more chocolatey cocoa (which in turn required more sugar) than the more expensive cocoa. This could be a reason why different people had different results. I rated this 4 stars because of the adjustments I made (increased cocoa to 2 cups, and sugar to 6. Added 1 tsp salt. I also used nonfat dry milk so I increased the cremora by 1/2 cup for a richer taste.) I also followed the suggestion of sifting my ingredients and grinding the dry milk to fine powder. Thta helped reduce the "mud" in the bottom of your cup and made for a creamier texture. In my opinion this compares to the mixes you buy from the store but I like the control over what you put in it. I made one batch with hazelnut creamer and that came out really good - tasted like the Landolakes version. Thanks for a versatile recipe! **new note added 12/3** I made a mocha flavored batch by adding 10 TBS instant coffe ground up, extra cup of sugar and cremora each and 1/2 tsp dried vanilla powder and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
300 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
I made this to go with a Christmas cookie/goody tray last year and everyone LOVED it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
O.K, I read other reviews and tweeked this a little, first off I ran the powdered milk through the food processor to make it powdery fine. used two cups of cocoa and increased the powdered sugar to 6 cups. We ended up with a yummy, creamy cocoa without the funny powdered milk taste hat makes you want to add Nestlies Quick, or just use the store seuff in the first place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Exceptionally Chocolately and Creamy!! THis is SOOOOO yummy in my coffee each morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Rector

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I’ve made this recipe before following the listed recipe precisely and it is fine, but not the best. This time I substituted Hershey’s Special Dark cocoa powder for regular cocoa powder. The taste was much more rich and chocolatey. It reminded me of what you’d buy at an expensive coffee shop. The dark cocoa powder bumps the recipe up to 5 stars in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This recipe as written is not good. I had to add 5 1/3 cups nesquik and 2lb of pwdr sugar to make it taste good. After adding all that I feel that it is cheaper just to buy it from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
I made my first batch exactly as the recipe directed and was disappointed. It wasn't creamy and the flavor wasn't chocolatey enough. I added some cinnamon and it helped. The second batch I messed around with the ratio of ingredients and finally got a creamier version that I liked. I wish I knew exactly what I did to get a tastier version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States