Hot Cocoa Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
I made this to go with a Christmas cookie/goody tray last year and everyone LOVED it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
O.K, I read other reviews and tweeked this a little, first off I ran the powdered milk through the food processor to make it powdery fine. used two cups of cocoa and increased the powdered sugar to 6 cups. We ended up with a yummy, creamy cocoa without the funny powdered milk taste hat makes you want to add Nestlies Quick, or just use the store seuff in the first place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Exceptionally Chocolately and Creamy!! THis is SOOOOO yummy in my coffee each morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Rector

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I’ve made this recipe before following the listed recipe precisely and it is fine, but not the best. This time I substituted Hershey’s Special Dark cocoa powder for regular cocoa powder. The taste was much more rich and chocolatey. It reminded me of what you’d buy at an expensive coffee shop. The dark cocoa powder bumps the recipe up to 5 stars in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This recipe as written is not good. I had to add 5 1/3 cups nesquik and 2lb of pwdr sugar to make it taste good. After adding all that I feel that it is cheaper just to buy it from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
I made my first batch exactly as the recipe directed and was disappointed. It wasn't creamy and the flavor wasn't chocolatey enough. I added some cinnamon and it helped. The second batch I messed around with the ratio of ingredients and finally got a creamier version that I liked. I wish I knew exactly what I did to get a tastier version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
I made Cocoa Cones for my daughter's teachers and my co-workers this Christmas and I found this recipe. My husband was the guinea pig and he loved the creamy taste from the powdered milk and non-dairy creamer. QUICK HINT: I combined all the ingredients in my stand mixer and let it mix together for a few minutes (that was for a 48 serving recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I had a recipe for years and lost it so I tryed this one. It was very good my kids and hubby liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by connie shinpaugh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This cocoa is awesome! I give it as a present in jars every year. All of my family is always asking if they will get some. One year I used granulated sugar instead, and it was just as good! I highly recommend this recipe. This year I am making a batch with cinnamon flavored creamer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I started by making 1/3 of the original recipe, 15 servings, which made the making much more managable. You do need a large bowl even to mix this amount. The powdered sugar causes this recipe to dissolve quickly in the hot cup of water which I like. I find the light taste fine just as the recipe is but I did add more cocoa and a little more sugar to my final batch before sending it out into the gift basket. I'm not sure it really made a difference. Most hot cocoa recipes call for equal amounts of granulated sugar and cocoa, I assume the confectioners sugar in this one made up for the difference between the other recipes. It is an individual taste you can play with in a smaller batch to get the flavor you want. I enclosed cinnamon stirring sticks with mine rather than to put cinnamon in the mix. But I will try cinnamon in a cup myself to test the flavor. All in all I will make this again it was easy and the flavor was very acceptable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States