Hot Cocoa Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I had an old recipe that I used back in the early 80's. This is as close as I could come to that. I think it's great! I might a little more creamer as I go...or milk. I really like it the way it is....yes a little chalky/sludgy but I just kept swirling! Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anthony, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Rio Hondo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Good flavor, makes a lot of mix. I added a touch more cocoa, sugar and creamer. Kids loved it after sledding today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
For powdered sugar - If you have a coffee bean grinder, try putting granulated sugar in it. Makes a nice powdered sugar. No additives, and fluffy. I don't like using non-dairy creamers with the hydrogenated fats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Swiss Miss or Hersheys taste just as good, unless you have to have homemade, it's really not worth all the money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I used the powered sugar as well. I used the recipe for holiday gift. Filled mason jars 3/4 full, about 8 servings, then top the mix with small marshmallows. Added some holiday fabric and gave as a gift ..... so cute
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
5 for taste, 2 for texture. Unfortuneately, its really chalky for me, although my boyfriend likes it. I already added extra cocoa but I think I'll try to add more sugar and creamer as suggested by others. Hopefully it will save this batch so I can give it out as gifts as intended! **UPDATE** I added more creamer and sugar but it still was pretty chalky and it definitely left a "sludge" on the bottom of the cup. I gave this in a gift basket and I got comments on how great everything was except the hot cocoa mix. Had to change star from 3 to 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
The hot cocoa had a real chocolate taste. The only thing I would suggest is to taste before you give away to make sure it is sweet enough. I found that I had to add an extra teaspoon of powder sugar to my cup before I could drink it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I added cinnamon but other then that, great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
This is not good. There isn't enough chocolate flavor, even after I used chocolate creamer, extra cocoa and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Thank you so much for this recipe. It is exactly what I was looking for. What a great way to avoid store packaged products. When we go backpacking we put a few scoops in a baggie and throw in some chocolate chips. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States