Hot Cocoa Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Swiss Miss or Hersheys taste just as good, unless you have to have homemade, it's really not worth all the money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I used the powered sugar as well. I used the recipe for holiday gift. Filled mason jars 3/4 full, about 8 servings, then top the mix with small marshmallows. Added some holiday fabric and gave as a gift ..... so cute
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
5 for taste, 2 for texture. Unfortuneately, its really chalky for me, although my boyfriend likes it. I already added extra cocoa but I think I'll try to add more sugar and creamer as suggested by others. Hopefully it will save this batch so I can give it out as gifts as intended! **UPDATE** I added more creamer and sugar but it still was pretty chalky and it definitely left a "sludge" on the bottom of the cup. I gave this in a gift basket and I got comments on how great everything was except the hot cocoa mix. Had to change star from 3 to 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
The hot cocoa had a real chocolate taste. The only thing I would suggest is to taste before you give away to make sure it is sweet enough. I found that I had to add an extra teaspoon of powder sugar to my cup before I could drink it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I added cinnamon but other then that, great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
This is not good. There isn't enough chocolate flavor, even after I used chocolate creamer, extra cocoa and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Thank you so much for this recipe. It is exactly what I was looking for. What a great way to avoid store packaged products. When we go backpacking we put a few scoops in a baggie and throw in some chocolate chips. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I have to say this recipe as it stands is not good. It's very watery and not nearly sweet enough as I've noticed most reviewers comment on. Sorry Earla. That being said, I think I managed to perfect it. I made it in a half batch with the following measures: 1-1/2 C Hershey's Cocoa Powder 3 C Powdered Sugar 5 C Powdered Milk 1 C Powdered Creamer (I find Borden's is the best) To make some fab modifications that will really knock their socks off, try adding 2 tsp ground cinnamon to the mix for Mexican Hot Chocolate. Or for a more festive variety, reduce the sugar by 1/2 cup, then powder 12 candy canes in the blender and add into the mix for a nice Candy Cane Cocoa! My husband loves this one so much, I can't seem to get any out for gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
454 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This was not chocolatey enough for me, it was creamy white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
I made 2 seperate batches of this mix with 2 different types of cocoa and they both came out very different. Surprisingly, Hershey's cocoa yielded a richer, more chocolatey cocoa (which in turn required more sugar) than the more expensive cocoa. This could be a reason why different people had different results. I rated this 4 stars because of the adjustments I made (increased cocoa to 2 cups, and sugar to 6. Added 1 tsp salt. I also used nonfat dry milk so I increased the cremora by 1/2 cup for a richer taste.) I also followed the suggestion of sifting my ingredients and grinding the dry milk to fine powder. Thta helped reduce the "mud" in the bottom of your cup and made for a creamier texture. In my opinion this compares to the mixes you buy from the store but I like the control over what you put in it. I made one batch with hazelnut creamer and that came out really good - tasted like the Landolakes version. Thanks for a versatile recipe! **new note added 12/3** I made a mocha flavored batch by adding 10 TBS instant coffe ground up, extra cup of sugar and cremora each and 1/2 tsp dried vanilla powder and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
288 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States