Hot Cocoa Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This was a hit with my children & their friends that range in age from 12 to 22!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moitle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This stuff was amazing! I cut the recipe in half, and it still made a ton! Even though there is dry milk in the mix, I still mixed it with hot milk and it made the creamiest, dreamiest hot cocoa I have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I scaled this back to make only 2 portions so that I could try it before investing in making such a large amount. Please note that in place of the confectioners sugar I used Splenda, as I'm diabetic. This, however, had no effect on the taste, which was overwhelmingly dominated by the unpleasant flavor of powdered milk. I'm not sure there's any way to get around this, since it's the main ingredient. As it stands, I'd much rather have the just-add-water packets made by Swiss Miss, which has a far superior flavor to this stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
The cocoa powder was overpowering. I made 3 servings to try before I used it in hot chocolate cones, but I was not impressed. Once I added an extra teaspoon of powdered sugar (per cup), it was better, but it's not something that I or my tasters will be repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I made up jars of this mix to put in gift baskets for family at Christmas time. I followed the recipe exactly and have had many compliments and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I made only 1/4 of this recipe just to be sure I liked it first (before making such a large batch). I brought it to work and everyone really enjoyed it... it's going quick! They all agreed that it was just the right amount of sweetness and they loved that it was low in calories compared to other varieties of hot cocoa mix. We ended up just adding 1/3 a cup of mix to 1 cup water and it didn't taste diluted at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I really liked this recipe, I had to tweak it a little. I added one more cup of creamer. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Culiacan, Sinaloa, Mexico
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Ok, this is an addicting recipe. I made one change. I omitted the creamer since I am not a fan of the chemicals in it and instead have been adding one to two tbsp of flavored coffee creamer. I use the fat free but I can imagine the options with adding different types of flavoring...chocolate mint, hazelnut, french vanilla....Mmmm so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Delicious! I need not say more. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EFFIE117

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This is a great platform to get what I wanted for a cocoa mix. Just had to tweak it a little to get the sweetness and creaminess personal to me. Liked that it only requires 4 ingredients that I have on hand all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States