Hot Cocoa Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I begged my aunt for two years to get the hot cocoa mix recipe she uses - finally she gave it to me and this is it! It makes a very rich and delicious hot chocolate! For Christmas this year I'm giving out single serving hot cocoa mixes to my coworkers in cone shaped treat bags. For half of the cones I added 1 Tbs. mint filled chocolate chips plus 1 mini candy cane and topped it with mini marshmallows. For the other half, I put 1 heaping Tbs. cinnamon chips and 2 shakes of ground cinnamon and also topped it with mini marshmallows. I hope my coworkers like them! I enjoyed both versions and the original plain! Note: I purchased a 25.6 oz box of dry milk thinking it would be enough. It measured out to be just 9 cups. Didn't want to go back to the store, so I just used the one box. Didn't alter any other ingredient increments. Turned out great! Also, I used half normal Hershey's unsweetened cocoa and half Hershey's Special Dark cocoa just like my aunt does! Thank you so much for the recipe Earla Taylor! Worth the wait :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Icook4mysailor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Great if substitute splenda for confectioners sugar. I usually mix the final hot cocoa powder in milk, not water. Very rich and creamy that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This is a great recipe. I just add extra powdered sugar because I like it sweeter. I made a 1/4 of a batch because the container I use for my mix is smaller than a full batch needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Wish I would have read the reviews before I made this and wasted all the product. It was very tasteless and not creamy or coz! I'll need to look for something else before tomorrow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Add a large box of milk chocolate instant pudding to this recipe! Makes it sooooo good!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This was not nearly chocolaty enough. I made this for Christmas gifts to my neighbors, and was disappointed. Would NOT recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clmosher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I use a 10 qt container of powdered milk, 1 2# Nestle Quik no sugar added, 22 oz. dry coffee creamer and 1/2 C. powdered sugar. I have made this for 45 years and it's the number 1 request for a Christmas gift for all my grandchildren. Not counting all the times in between. This is a similar recipe but no measuring just empty full containers. 1/3 C. mix for a coffee mug. Add hot water or coffee. MMMMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
i put 2 1/2 TB add more if u want it more cocoa-y
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I gave this as Christmas gifts to friends and neighbors this year. My kids and I thought it was great. I am not a huge chocolate fan, but the balance is good. Not too chocolatey. I only made a double recipe and could have easily made a triple or quadruple. I paired this with spoons that had hardened white almond bark with red and green sprinkles and marshmallows, to use to stir the hot chocolate. Looked and tasted great too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Kansas, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This is a great and simple recipe. I made a batch to be used as gifts. The powdered milk is a little coarse, so I ran everything through the food processor and made a totally smooth powder. I tested it on myself before making labels for the directions. It takes 1T of the mix per 1/4 cup of boiling water. My bags contained 1/2 cup of the mix, so each bag made 2-8 ounce mugs. I used clear disposable cake decorating bags for the mix. After the mix was in the bag, I placed about 20 miniature marshmallows at the top of the bag, and closed it up using a pipe cleaner twisted up to seal it, attaching a tag with the directions. Perfect gift idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States