Hot Cocoa Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Made it for gifts and some for ourselves. It is really good. Be careful to pick a good brand of powdered milk, so it isn't too grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kcmeredith
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I mixed up a quadruple batch to jar and give as favors at my daughter's birthday party, and when it was finished, I had to taste-test it before giving it to my guests. It did not disappoint! It is much more creamy and chocolaty than your average store-bought powdered cocoa mix. I suspect the pudding mix is the key. My only criticism is that it creates a lot of "dust" when mixing, transferring into jars, or scooping into a mug--but this is true of all such mixes, in my experience. This one has by far the best flavor of those I've tried. I did follow the suggestion made by other reviewers to use chocolate-flavored powdered creamer, and this probably boosted the flavor. With that one simple modification, it's a 5-star recipe for a powdered mix! I jarred it with a few peppermint marshmallows, which is my favorite way to drink it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcmeredith

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
The recipe is awesome once sugar is added.. I like my hot coco sweet.. I'm trying 1 cup of sugar to the mixture.. I added 3 tablespoons to the individual cup (1/3 cup of mixture with 1 cup of hot water) and it was a chocolate heaven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I'm giving this 3 stars because its a good starting point and the addition of the pudding mix is tasty. However, I like most people had to tweak it to make it good. I made these for christmas party favors. I mixed several batches one at the time and after I made the first I tried it to make sure it was good. I like mine super chocolate-y and sweet. Here is what I did and how I mixed my cup/wrote the directions. 3 1/2 cups powdered milk, 2 (5oz) boxes cook and sever chocolate pudding mix, 2 cups nesquik, 1/2cup vanilla non dairy creamer, 1/2 cup powdered sugar, 1/2 cup cocoa powder. Made a cup + a tad over 3 pint jars worth. For mixing/what I tried I heated a large mug of water in the microwave until hot then stirred in 4 heaping tablespoons full of the mix. by heaping I mean...was probably about 6-7 level tablespoons worth. It of course does not taste like box mix but it has the same sweetness and chocolate levels. I was surprisingly pleased with the out come as I normally mix hot cocoa mix with warm milk not water. So yeah after tweaks I would definitely make it again and make it for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This is a great recipe! Very rich and creamy. The best I have found. I was able modify this to suit my lactose intolerant boyfriend by using "Morning Moos" dairy alternative powder. This mix is more dense than powdered milk, so I used 1/2 of what the recipe called for. I also put the mix through a food processor to removed any lumps. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I can't really expand on the other reviews. Just wanted to say - it is the best. I used vanilla flavored creamer and everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horton, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I gave this to my husband's coworkers last CHRISTmas. They're still raving about it! Guess what they'll get again this year, along with homemade marshmallows http://m.allrecipes.com/recipe/184362/peppermint-marshmallows
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Easy to make and great taste. This makes a large amount of hot cocoa, we were able to split it up for 4 teacher gifts. They were all very impressed with the homemade gift. We gave it with large marshmallows and directions tied to the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
It was good with hot water but better with hot milk. Like many have said it was creamy tasting, and I used a flavored creamer which seemed to enhance the chocolate flavor. Also used half as much powdered milk as it called for, didn't want to the milky taste to over power the chocolate and vanilla so I added 3 cups of creamer and 3 1/3 cups powdered milk. It turned out great =D now I have a go to recipe for hot chocolate when winter time comes again and its cheap to make too! Thanks ^-^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GothicSpice86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This was delightful! I made a huge batch to give to colleagues and friends as gifts and everyone loved it. I, of course, had to sample as well and thought it was the best cocoa I've ever had. I did use vanilla-flavored non-dairy creamer and instead of cocoa powder (I ran out and didn't realize) I chopped up a ghiradelli chocolate bar and put it in the food processor before adding to the mix. I also wanted a layered effect so I chopped up candy canes to put on top with mini marshmallows and chocolate chips. Served in a bell jar with a ribbon and it was a great holiday gift. Cheap too - I figured that it only cost about $9 per gift including the jar and ribbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States