Hot Cocoa Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This is to die for hot cocoa, it really tastes like something from a gourmet coffee/chocolate shop! I made gift jars for Christmas and called it snowman soup! I used Coffee-Mate's creamy chocolate powdered creamer, and Wilbur Chocolate's cocoa powder (because I live right outside of Lititz, PA)! I would suggest that you sift the powdered sugar and cocoa to break up the lumps for a nice powdery consistency. In addition to the hot cocoa mix, I added a few Wilbur Chocolate Buds, and Hershey Hugs kisses, mini marshmallows, and peppermint sticks to stir it all up! The presentation was adorable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
Made wonderful little gifts last Christmas. I added my own blend of cinnamon and nutmeg... yummy. Will do again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
This recipe saved me for Valentines Day! The gift i was planning on fell through last minute, so i needed something quick. I found a really adoreable jar at a craft store, and layered the ingredients inside. Because i did it in layers, i added a few ingredients for kicks, two layers of red sprinkles (just around the edje,) two layers of mini marshmellows, and one layer of miniature chocolate chips in the middle. (if you try this, make sure to -pack- down each layer before adding the next one!) I also used vanilla flavored creamer instead of plain for a little more depth. (also because i don't use plain creamer, and didn't want the extra on my shelf!) It turned out wonderfully! i topped it off with a dash of cinamon and tied a thick red ribbon around the lid. It's adoreable, and he'll love it! i mixed the extra ingrediants for myself and my roommates to enjoy (this recipe makes a TON!) and we love it. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhappe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
Absolutely delicious! Pre-made, store-bought cocoa tastes so bland after drinking this stuff! I advise using the Wal-Mart store brand chocolate drink mix (generic of Quik) because Quik doesn't give it much flavor... and using chocolate-flavored powdered creamer gives it an extra cocoa boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy D.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
It is without doubt the best I've ever had. I usually won't drink hot cocoa unless it's been whipped through the blender with milk added, but this recipe didn't need all that fuss. I'm giving it to all my kids for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
I decided to try this recipe for simple gifts this year. My 2 1/2 year old daughter helped me mix up the ingredients (she was very excited to help!) and we made two batches. We filled 6 pint jars and almost 3 quart jars! My one addition to the mix was a bit of cinnamon. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
This recipe is incredibly filling. We took it camping and usually just had this for a quick meal when we didn't have any energy or desire to make anything else. When I made a 2nd batch, I did use Chocolate Malt Ovaltine just to add some nutrition since we were using it as a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GingerSnap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
Great recipe. Really quick and easy. My 4 year old loves it. Since Christmas is on a buget this year, we're giving this as gifts for the teachers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Good recipe, but I added extra powdered milk and felt it tasted better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2001
This is really good--the pudding is a new variation to me, and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States