Hot Cocoa Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
A good base to start with- one downside I thought was you needed so much powder (1/3 cup) to made the hot chocolate. I added twice the pudding mix and twice the chocolate drink mix (Nesquick). With those extras only 4 tablespoons is needed to make a richer drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Best mix ever. I have TONS of people who ask for this every christmas! I did, however, add 1/3 cup of powdered vanilla coffee creamer. I felt this added a touch of vanilla that served to complement the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Bayless

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Nice and thick and rich. Make sure to use the cook and serve pudding. I made the mistake of getting instant with the first batch I made and it wasn't nearly as thick as with the cook and serve. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Very disappointing! I made this recipe because it had a higher star rating than the other hot cocoa mixes did. I went out and bought all the ingredients especially for the recipe and was so anxious to try it. It wasn't any better than a plain ol' store bought hot cocoa and didn't have much chocolate flavor at all. Very bland tasting. I've been trying it different ways by adding dark chocolate powder or coffee but am still not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Cullum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This recipe was really good. I was making this to give out to 70 people. I put 1/3 cup in individual bags to give out. I put marshmallos in the bag and attached the instructions and the recipe. My kids love it. It tastes better than the packets that I buy at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This is delicious. Even better than the cocoa mix my mom made when we were growing up. My brother has a special love for hot cocoa, so I made this for him for Christmas. He's already finished what I gave him and requesting more. I did find it helpful to sift the ingredients before mixing together. It helped to ensure everything mixed evenly with no lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This was really good! I had my reservations after others comments and I was going to buy a choc. flavored powdered creamer like others suggested but forgot to adjust my grocery list so when I got home, I used half of the plain I purchased and substituted the other half with store bought cocoa mix I didn't care for at all. It was like a half a cup to a huge batch and I don't think it made that much difference but all in all, I thought it was great! I thought it had plenty of chocolate flavor and even though you do have to add a lot, which you have to with store bought too if you want it rich, it still had a richer, darker tones, more like a gormuet cocoa in a shop but it was MUCH better then what I have picked up for my kids in ANY coffee shop I've been to. I didn't think it was bitter at all and the pudding was good in it. Only downfall? The powdered milk especially was too expensive! Yikes The whole thing was spendy but still probably less then at a shop, cup for cup, and of coarse, better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This wasn't my favorite - I didn't think it was very sweet. My hubby and son said it was good but I think they added quite a few marshmallows to sweeten it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
made great holiday gifts this year! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I made two huge batches of this to give as Christmas gifts and asked my husband to taste test (he eats everything). He kept saying it tasted funny. Not being a cocoa person myself, I just figured it wasn't sweet enough for him so added more cocoa, choc drink mix & conf sugar. He still said it tasted funny so I tried it and realized it was the pudding that was putting him off...me too. Just the smell of it when I expected to smell chocolate was a turn off. I'll remake adding more of above and eliminating the pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States