Hot Cocoa Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teacher4life

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Liberty, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I didn't enjoy this recipe at all. Followed it to a T, but it just doesn't have the flavour I like. I'd much rather have the cadbury hot chocolate from the store - it is rich and has amazing flavour. I tried playing with the combinations of ingredients and don't even know what to suggest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
blech! just made 4 jars to give as gifts. thankfully i made a cup of it first to try it out. added 1/3 of the mix to 1 cup of water and it was awful! added more mix and it was still bad. tastes like hot powdered milk with a hint of chocolate. i honestly don't understand the great reviews. none of my daughters liked it either. i'm going to have to do some major tweeking to make it drinkable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was very watery tasting so I added another box of chocolate fudge pudding mix (the smaller box size), more cocoa, more powdered drink mix, alot more powdered milk and creamer. Then it tasted like something. Still wish it was a bit richer. Will have to keep playing with it to get it where it needs to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This is good. We were making a double batch & only added 1/2 cup cocoa mix & doubled the powdered sugar. We will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Very, VERY GOOD! I added just a pinch of nutmeg and cinnamon to lend a bit of holiday flavor. My husband is HOOKED! ***HINT*** to get it to all blend and not have floaties (from the powder sugar) add 2 heaping tbs to a mug, then add just a bit of boiling water and mix together into a paste. THEN add the rest of the boiling water. Comes out nice and smooth, just so yummy! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Leandro, California, USA
Living In: Discovery Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I had to make adjustments to make this not taste like milk. I think the store stuff is better and alot cheaper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This recipe is AMAZING! My husband and I were married last Christmas and didn't have a lot of money to spend on gifts. We decided to give our families homemade gift baskets with lots of goodies inside. I made several items but this was the biggest hit of them all! We went to Costco to purchase all the items in bulk and still had some left after making hot cocoa for 16 people. Everyone is dying for me to make this again this year and it's great because it's so cheap and easy!!! We love this recipe all year round and add mini marshmellows to our jar for extra character. You can't miss with this great hit! The trick is the non-instant pudding. Be sure not to skip out on the hidden ingrediant! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This is delicious and so easy to make. I did double the confectioners sugar as I have a bit of a sweet tooth but the whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Had to monkey with it to eliminate non dairy creamer. That stuff will kill you, but still worked very well without. Kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States