Hot Cocoa Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Very good, but I found it is much better if you add 1/2 cup of malted milk powder to the mixture! It makes for a richer hot cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniJ3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I may have done something wrong, however i think the recipie tastes too much like the powdered milk. It was bland to me. I added a good amount of sugar and cocoa powder to give it more flavor and i finaly started geting the flavor I wanted. In all I did not like the recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Kookie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
As is, I don't like the recipe at all. After reading other reviews I added extra powdered sugar and chocolate creamer. However, the strongest flavor I tasted was the powdered milk. And I hate powdered milk. All homemade hot cocoa drinks I've ever had always have a stong powdered milk taste. So, I added an extra box of pudding, and about a cup more of the chocolate powdered drink mix. With the extra chocolate ingredients it's better...but I'll stick with my Nestles hot cocoa mix. I'm giving this away for Christmas. I know others won't have issues with the powdered milk like I do. All in all, dissapointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
i have made this every Christmas for gifts for the last 3 years and everyone looks forward to it. they love it! i also put it with several other items as well in baskets. huge hits!! for the non dairy creamer i use french vanilla flavor instead of just plain and it makes it have just a little hint of vanilla which everyone loves as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Pretty Good! It did need a whir in the blender to make it a powder and to help it dissolve easier - but it was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMPNorth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
If you like Starbucks hot chocolate or Hershey's hot cocoa, then you will like this. Instead of mixing with water, I used non fat milk (its just like water). Anyway, it tasted too much like the Hershey's cocoa. I added another cup of the chocolate drink mix and it didn't change things much. I'm going to add more confectioners sugar as some of the other posters have done and hope for the best. I am used to Nestle Rich Chocolate cocoa, so I like it a little sweet. This recipe as is, is not very sweet, but very coco-ie. Updated: I ended up adding one more cup of powdered sugar. The next day, I drank my Nestles cocoa and I have to admit that I like this recipe better. The Nestles was definitely not as chocolaty. I am hooked now on this recipe with the few changes made. It's a dark chocolate flavor with just enough sweetness. Just play with the recipe a little until you find your niche. I added another star =) Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
very good hot chocolate mix, took it to work and was well recieved, i did make one sub to the recipe, i subed 1 cup ground milk chocolate (ran through food procceser), when i took it to work i also brought in some plastic spoons i had dipped in melted dark chocolate as stir spoons
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Really glad I read through the reviews before I made this. REALLY glad. Thanks to those who went before me. I took lots of notes and adjusted it to get the best possible outcome for my money. For those skeptical that this is actually cheaper than your prepackaged mixes, shop bulk! You can totally buy most of the items in this recipe super cheap at your local bulk items store (like WinCo). For me, I had both Grocery Outlet (who had packaged powdered creamer at a screaming price for after Christmas and powdered sugar next to nothing and with the bulk, It cost me.....gosh, less than four bucks to make a double batch. Just food for thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Great tasting hot chocolate. I gave this as a gift. My Bullet blender with the flat-blade came in handy to premix ingredients before putting together in the bowl. Very smooth powder is the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This was a good starting recipe i reduced the powdered milk to 4 cups and increased the powdered sugar to 2 cups and 1 cup of unsweetened cocoa powder omited the chocolate drink mix and added 1/2 c special Dark Cocoa mix and 1 box vanilla non instant pudding mix, along with 1-2 TB Cinnamon 1 TB ginger and 1 TB nutmeg and I came up with a close version of chocolate chai mix. very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States