Hot Cocoa Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I thought this was just ok. I have another cocoa mix recipe that I have used and it wasn't as creamy as this. But I think this could use some tweaking. I don't think it was chocolately enough. I may try this again and use some of Cyndy's changes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I played with this a little to get the richness that I wanted. I doubled the creamer and used Fr. vanilla, doubled the sugar and used Hershey's dark cocoa. It was plenty rich when mixed with the 1 c. water to 1/2 c. mix proportion that the recipe suggests. I really enjoyed this and gave a bunch away at Christmas. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
My daughter actually made this recipe,after trying a few others from the site. This time she used SACO natural and Dutch Chocolate blend cocoa,(actually one of the cheaper brands)and Cremora brand creamer. She also used the tip to run the dry milk through the food processor to give it a finer texture that won't lump when hot water is added. This turned out to be the best batch, (delicious and creamy) and the one we will keep using for ourselves and gift giving. I think everyone needs to adapt the recipe to their own "Chocolate" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Wonderful and rich. I made the recipe then put it in a disposable decorating bag having put three 1/3 cups in topped with mini marshmellows and chocolate chips. I first closed it with a twist-tie then a seasonal fabric for decoration. This made 7 bags. I will give them away with the "Special Butterscotch Chip Cookies in a Jar" found on this website. I thought the combo would make a great gift for our volunteers at church.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Voorhees, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FOODGU1
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
This is excellent and I thought it tasted rich and creamy enough with just boiled water. I used French Vanilla creamer as others had done and sifted the ingredients before mixing it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
The best! My family enjoyed it much more after we determined we should add some liquid such as milk or water to the mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This turned out great! I used all french vanilla creamer as others suggested. I packed the mix in pint sized jars so I was able to get 6 jars made. I also layered mini chocolate chips, Nestle Swirled Holiday white chocolate chips and mini marshmallows at the top of the jar. I labeled it Snowman Soup following the suggestion of another reviewer. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
This makes a huge amount of mix. I gave it away in mason jars as Christmas gifts this year. I followed the recipe exactly only to add some finely ground toffee bits to give a little extra hint of sweetness to the mix. If you are need of a gift for a lot of people this is a perfect idea. Just place in a pretty tin with instructions and you are set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Creamy and yummy! This worked out great as a gift for the holidays. Makes PLENTY to pass around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This original recipe really lacked the chocolate flavor and sweetness we enjoy in hot cocoa. So, I added more powdered sugar and cocoa until I reached the desired taste. I put in a small baggie topped with mini marshmallows and put in a holiday mug for teacher's gifts. Hope they enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States