Hot Cocoa Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Wondeerful!!! The pudding mix is what makes it so great I think. Definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pinkpigeon
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
[[EDIT]] Dec. 5 -- I altered the recipe a smidge and I've perfected it to my taste. First I omitted the dry milk and subbed regular dry creamer w/French 'Nilla. Then instead of adding mixture to hot water I added it to warm milk. Then LOTS of marshmellows on top. I promise, it comes out perfect. :) Great idea, and great recipe. I added red and green sprinkles, a pinch more sugar, and a few chocolate chips to make the drink a darker brown (looks more like a chocolate drink but still has a frothy, creamy taste). i was worried i wouldnt be able to find anything that i could put in a jar AND would taste good but it really does taste wonderful. i plan on copying another user and call mine Snowman Soup :) great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkpigeon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Campania, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Had an off taste. Possibly too much powdered milk. Not one I would recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Very good. I also added extra cocoa and extra sugar, and the end result was well worth it. Add five or six tablespoons of this stuff to 1/2 cup of milk and 1 cup of ice and put it in the blender. WOW! Heaven in a glass. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
It has a weird, almost salty taste that I'm attributing to the powdered milk. I used "non-fat dry milk", but I don't know if this was correct. I will probably throw the rest of the batch out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Harper
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Very Creamy. My kids loved it! I cut heart shaped marshmallows and filled a mug for my daughter's teachers as a Valentine's gift. I heated the water, added the mix, then finished by whipping with my hand blender, ultra smooth. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I thought this was just ok. I have another cocoa mix recipe that I have used and it wasn't as creamy as this. But I think this could use some tweaking. I don't think it was chocolately enough. I may try this again and use some of Cyndy's changes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I played with this a little to get the richness that I wanted. I doubled the creamer and used Fr. vanilla, doubled the sugar and used Hershey's dark cocoa. It was plenty rich when mixed with the 1 c. water to 1/2 c. mix proportion that the recipe suggests. I really enjoyed this and gave a bunch away at Christmas. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
My daughter actually made this recipe,after trying a few others from the site. This time she used SACO natural and Dutch Chocolate blend cocoa,(actually one of the cheaper brands)and Cremora brand creamer. She also used the tip to run the dry milk through the food processor to give it a finer texture that won't lump when hot water is added. This turned out to be the best batch, (delicious and creamy) and the one we will keep using for ourselves and gift giving. I think everyone needs to adapt the recipe to their own "Chocolate" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Wonderful and rich. I made the recipe then put it in a disposable decorating bag having put three 1/3 cups in topped with mini marshmellows and chocolate chips. I first closed it with a twist-tie then a seasonal fabric for decoration. This made 7 bags. I will give them away with the "Special Butterscotch Chip Cookies in a Jar" found on this website. I thought the combo would make a great gift for our volunteers at church.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Voorhees, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States