Hot Cocoa Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I just made this and I thought it would be a little more chocolatey and sweeter than it was. It isn't bad at all, it tastes about the same as the powdered hot chocolate that comes in packages. It is very quick and easy to make; I added some chocolate chips to the mix and sprinkled some crushed candy canes on the top to make it look better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xx thinkpink xo
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This is a delicious hot chocolate mix. It needs more sugar for my family's taste; we add a tablespoon of Splenda per serving, and absolutely love it! As other reviewers mentioned, this hot chocolate is really filling and can be a snack all by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Antioch, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I don't mean any disrespect, but I really didn't like this recipe at all. I had much bigger expectations. I made 3 batches for 12 pint jars, and every one was disappointing. I think there's too much of the powdered milk, and not enough sugar or chocolate. In the end, I could have just wrapped up a box of Nestle's Hot Cocoa, and it would have tasted better. Sorry. It just wasn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I thought this was good but I had something richer in mind. Still tastes like Nestles out of the pouch. I had a to die for mix given to my family as a child and I am still searching for something that stands up to that one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sommer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This recipe was great! I added a little cinnamon on top and it was very creamy and tasty. It's amazing how it really does taste like real hot chocolate from starbucks. I am using this recipe for Christmas gifts! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This was a good recipes, I'm making it for gifts this year with a small gift bag of home-made marshmallows. My only suggestions would be I used almost a half a cup more confectioners sugar and the dutch dark cocoa powder, and a 1/4 c. more creamer to make it less watery. Would definatly be better made with milk. Also recommend sifting all ingrediants before putting in jars. FYI recipe makes 5 pint jars full, be sure to tap them on the counter before sealing to allow for settling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LVNNSTYL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bluff, Utah, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I have made the traditional hot coocoa mix for the past 3 years for my neighbors for christmas. This year I tried this one and WOW! Oh was it good after I made my changes. It wasn't that good as written. Here are my changes 6 cups powdered milk 1 package of non-instant Chocolate pudding mix 1 cup nestle quick 2/3 cups CHOCOLATE non-dairy creamer 1/3 cup non dairy creamer 1 cup Nestle Special Dark Cocoa Powder (for baking) 1/2 cup confectioners sugar 2/3 cup powdered cinnamon candy 2 tablespoons Corn Starch I took 2/3 a cup of homemade cinnamon candy and powdered it in the food processor and added it along with 1/2 cup of powdered sugar. I used Chocolate Creamer and added an extra 1/2 cup of cocoa. I subtracted 1/2 cup of powdered milk too. I also added 2 tablespoons of corn starch. I sifted everything to make a fine texture and used a whisk in a really big bowl to combine. The pudding mix and the corn starch added the richness that was missing. The neighborhood loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSHAASE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lagrange, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fairmount, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This is a very forgiving recipe! I didn't have chocolate pudding and was concerned about texture, so I used vanilla and doubled the unsweetened cocoa. I forgot the confectioners' sugar and I don't think it needed it at all. I was surprised at how yummy the end result was and am sad we don't have any left for the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I made a batch of this yummy goodness,, I also as some reviewers stated added a flavored creamer. but I used exactly the same amount on recipe,. I tried a cup before I started to jar it up. WOW Wonderful. thanks for sharing this..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie Landreth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I made a batch of this and took it on a camping trip with my husband & 5-year-old son. They both really loved it (me too) and it was the perfect drink for those chilly nights under the stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArtistColumbus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, Ohio, USA
Living In: Blacklick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States