Hot Cocoa Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I have made the traditional hot coocoa mix for the past 3 years for my neighbors for christmas. This year I tried this one and WOW! Oh was it good after I made my changes. It wasn't that good as written. Here are my changes 6 cups powdered milk 1 package of non-instant Chocolate pudding mix 1 cup nestle quick 2/3 cups CHOCOLATE non-dairy creamer 1/3 cup non dairy creamer 1 cup Nestle Special Dark Cocoa Powder (for baking) 1/2 cup confectioners sugar 2/3 cup powdered cinnamon candy 2 tablespoons Corn Starch I took 2/3 a cup of homemade cinnamon candy and powdered it in the food processor and added it along with 1/2 cup of powdered sugar. I used Chocolate Creamer and added an extra 1/2 cup of cocoa. I subtracted 1/2 cup of powdered milk too. I also added 2 tablespoons of corn starch. I sifted everything to make a fine texture and used a whisk in a really big bowl to combine. The pudding mix and the corn starch added the richness that was missing. The neighborhood loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSHAASE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lagrange, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fairmount, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This is a very forgiving recipe! I didn't have chocolate pudding and was concerned about texture, so I used vanilla and doubled the unsweetened cocoa. I forgot the confectioners' sugar and I don't think it needed it at all. I was surprised at how yummy the end result was and am sad we don't have any left for the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I made a batch of this yummy goodness,, I also as some reviewers stated added a flavored creamer. but I used exactly the same amount on recipe,. I tried a cup before I started to jar it up. WOW Wonderful. thanks for sharing this..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I made a batch of this and took it on a camping trip with my husband & 5-year-old son. They both really loved it (me too) and it was the perfect drink for those chilly nights under the stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArtistColumbus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, Ohio, USA
Living In: Blacklick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Wondeerful!!! The pudding mix is what makes it so great I think. Definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pinkpigeon
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
[[EDIT]] Dec. 5 -- I altered the recipe a smidge and I've perfected it to my taste. First I omitted the dry milk and subbed regular dry creamer w/French 'Nilla. Then instead of adding mixture to hot water I added it to warm milk. Then LOTS of marshmellows on top. I promise, it comes out perfect. :) Great idea, and great recipe. I added red and green sprinkles, a pinch more sugar, and a few chocolate chips to make the drink a darker brown (looks more like a chocolate drink but still has a frothy, creamy taste). i was worried i wouldnt be able to find anything that i could put in a jar AND would taste good but it really does taste wonderful. i plan on copying another user and call mine Snowman Soup :) great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkpigeon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Campania, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Had an off taste. Possibly too much powdered milk. Not one I would recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Very good. I also added extra cocoa and extra sugar, and the end result was well worth it. Add five or six tablespoons of this stuff to 1/2 cup of milk and 1 cup of ice and put it in the blender. WOW! Heaven in a glass. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
It has a weird, almost salty taste that I'm attributing to the powdered milk. I used "non-fat dry milk", but I don't know if this was correct. I will probably throw the rest of the batch out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Harper
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Very Creamy. My kids loved it! I cut heart shaped marshmallows and filled a mug for my daughter's teachers as a Valentine's gift. I heated the water, added the mix, then finished by whipping with my hand blender, ultra smooth. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States