Hot Cocoa Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I had high hopes for this one. The chocolate taste was good, but it was not as sweet as I expected, so I added some Splenda. Also, there are lot of yucky clumps at the bottom of the cup that do not stir in, even though I mixed all the ingredients together in the food processor. I will be looking for another recipe. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
My kids loved this cocoa! It is sooo much more rich than the store bought kind. I didn't have a the powdered creamer, so I put in a package of vanilla pudding mix along with the chocolate pudding mix,and it turned out lovely! I whized the powdered mix in a blender before I stored it so that all the ingredients were the same coarseness...so that the powdered milk wouldn't settle to the bottom when it was stored for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Camden, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
good. I used less powdered milk and French Vanilla whitener. Also doubled the cocoa. I sifted the ingredients first which helped the powder dissolve well, but my kitchen was covered in a fine coating of white powder thanks to the milk!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KKCOBB
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Really yummy mix! I added about 2 tsp. cinnamon and used the vanilla creamer. I packaged in a sugar/creamer dispenser from the dollar store and dressed them up for teacher gifts (see my photo). Labeled it "Vanilla-Cinnamon Cocoa Mix for Grown-ups!" My son LOVED this cocoa and I made another batch to have at home. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KKCOBB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I just made this and I thought it would be a little more chocolatey and sweeter than it was. It isn't bad at all, it tastes about the same as the powdered hot chocolate that comes in packages. It is very quick and easy to make; I added some chocolate chips to the mix and sprinkled some crushed candy canes on the top to make it look better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xx thinkpink xo
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This is a delicious hot chocolate mix. It needs more sugar for my family's taste; we add a tablespoon of Splenda per serving, and absolutely love it! As other reviewers mentioned, this hot chocolate is really filling and can be a snack all by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Antioch, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I don't mean any disrespect, but I really didn't like this recipe at all. I had much bigger expectations. I made 3 batches for 12 pint jars, and every one was disappointing. I think there's too much of the powdered milk, and not enough sugar or chocolate. In the end, I could have just wrapped up a box of Nestle's Hot Cocoa, and it would have tasted better. Sorry. It just wasn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I thought this was good but I had something richer in mind. Still tastes like Nestles out of the pouch. I had a to die for mix given to my family as a child and I am still searching for something that stands up to that one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sommer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This recipe was great! I added a little cinnamon on top and it was very creamy and tasty. It's amazing how it really does taste like real hot chocolate from starbucks. I am using this recipe for Christmas gifts! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This was a good recipes, I'm making it for gifts this year with a small gift bag of home-made marshmallows. My only suggestions would be I used almost a half a cup more confectioners sugar and the dutch dark cocoa powder, and a 1/4 c. more creamer to make it less watery. Would definatly be better made with milk. Also recommend sifting all ingrediants before putting in jars. FYI recipe makes 5 pint jars full, be sure to tap them on the counter before sealing to allow for settling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LVNNSTYL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bluff, Utah, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States