Hot Cocoa Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Absolutely wonderful. I made this to include in a gift basket for a fundraiser auction. I made the batch and sampled a cup...incredibly creamy and delicious. Because the generic powdered milk I used was more like small pellets than powder, after I mixed up the recipe I ran it all through my blender in small batches. This worked great--the mix ended up looking great, and it dissolved immediately and completely in boiling water. A *great* recipe. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
okay, won't make it again. not sweet/rich enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterford, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Not bad. I think I would prefer it a tad sweeter. It's creamy enough. I measured out all my ingredients in a bowl then sifted it all together, combining well. I have some lumps on the bottom of my mug which don't seem to want to stir out. Not sure why. I'll be keeping this mix for home and not giving as gifts though. I think it needs a bit more tweaking first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Very easy to make! Can't wait to try it when the weather is cooler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Used french vanilla creamer, and had to add a few tablespoons extra sugar. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I was a little suprised by the other reviews on this one. (Although we do all have different tastes and preferences!!) I really found this recipe to be great. Unlike others, I thought the "sweetness level" was perfect for my tastes. Also, I used a french vanilla cofee creamer which worked great! Forget putting it in jars to give to others! This one stays on my pantry shelf all winter long for whenever we want some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I had high hopes for this one. The chocolate taste was good, but it was not as sweet as I expected, so I added some Splenda. Also, there are lot of yucky clumps at the bottom of the cup that do not stir in, even though I mixed all the ingredients together in the food processor. I will be looking for another recipe. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
My kids loved this cocoa! It is sooo much more rich than the store bought kind. I didn't have a the powdered creamer, so I put in a package of vanilla pudding mix along with the chocolate pudding mix,and it turned out lovely! I whized the powdered mix in a blender before I stored it so that all the ingredients were the same coarseness...so that the powdered milk wouldn't settle to the bottom when it was stored for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Camden, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
good. I used less powdered milk and French Vanilla whitener. Also doubled the cocoa. I sifted the ingredients first which helped the powder dissolve well, but my kitchen was covered in a fine coating of white powder thanks to the milk!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KKCOBB
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Really yummy mix! I added about 2 tsp. cinnamon and used the vanilla creamer. I packaged in a sugar/creamer dispenser from the dollar store and dressed them up for teacher gifts (see my photo). Labeled it "Vanilla-Cinnamon Cocoa Mix for Grown-ups!" My son LOVED this cocoa and I made another batch to have at home. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KKCOBB

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 141-150 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States