Hot Cocoa Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This is pretty tasty. I added cinnamon to mine and gave as gifts. It is expensive to make tho. The cocoa powder and powdered milk are pricey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This is a great recipe, as well as great for gift-giving! I ended up giving out individual servings instead of doing it in a jar. Went to Michael's and got those cellophane candy bags, cut the tops off, filled each bag with a heaping 1/3 cup. Also added marshmellows and those white chocolate peppermint baking chips as they melt very quickly in hot liquid, while giving it a minty flavor. Tied the bag with a festive ribbon, and they make great single-serve holiday gifts for friends and coworkers. They just the entire contents in the cup. Very tasty recipe! Also, I for the non-dairy creamer, I used a flavored one like Caramel Vanilla, and for the chocolate drink mix I used Ghiradelli's Sweetened Cocoa instead as I feel it gives it more flavor than something like Quick drink mix. I also made chocolate covered spoons to mix into the cocoa (or even coffee).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, New York, USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Very good cocoa mix! I accidentally bought the 3.5-ounce boxes of pudding instead of the 5-ounce boxes, but it still turned out plenty thick and chocolatey. I have to admit, I was skeptical about the pudding anyway, but after reading reviews on other cocoa recipes that don't include pudding and seeing that people had added it, I was convinced to try it. I made three batches so I would have enough to give for Christmas gifts and some to keep for my daughters and myself to use. It's not something I'll be able to make very often because of how expensive powdered milk is, but when we want something special this will be on the list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This is a great recipe! I followed the instructions, only substituting french vanilla creamer for the regular and dark cocoa instead of the plain. I also added a bit of cinnamon for flavor. I dressed up some mason jars and gave the mix as gifts along with some homemade marshmallows, too cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I made this today to give out as Christmas gifts. I tried a cup myself first and I loved it. I did make a few alterations though. I used 1c. powdered sugar instead of 1/2 and I used about 3/4-1 c. of cocoa powder. I ran it all through the food processor to mix and get the milk powder as fine as the rest. I turned out wonderfully! I think I will have to make some more just to keep here for the us! I will post pics as soon as I get the rest of my gift basket stuff done. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countygirl28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I think it needs more sugar and chocolate. Its also more costly than I expected. I mixed it in the food processor. Made it for my 2 boys teachers at school. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I found the recipe to be pretty bland as is. My grocery store does not carry chocolate creamer though (based on other reviews), so perhaps that's an important component. I used a full cup of sugar and a tablespoon of cinnamon. I would also not recommend mixing with water and would only mix it with milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Yes I agree with those that said it needed a bit more sugar. I also added cinnamon and then it wasn't too shabby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Great stuff. Way better than the packet stuff and makes bunches. And very easy. I put it in a big empty coffee can and we drink it on cold mornings and evenings. Would make a very cool gift in cute jars as suggested. Who does not love a rich cup of hot cocoa?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREASKYE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mineral Wells, Texas, USA
Living In: Rhome, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
FANTASTIC!!!! This recipe is not too sweet and very, very creamy. The trick for this recipe is that you do need to put everything through the food processor/blender to make all of the ingredients the same size and consistency. It was so smooth and creamy, my family and friends asked for me to make more and to NOT give it out as jar gifts like we were planning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francina Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewiston, Idaho, USA
Living In: Fort Riley, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States