Hot Cocoa Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I am assuming I did something incorrect based on previous recipes, but this was just terrible. So terrible in fact I felt compeled to write my first review ever on Allrecipes. I did a test batch before I gave it out as holiday gifts. Not sure where I went wrong. Glad I tested it out before giving it to friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Very smooth, creamy tasting mix. The only thing different I did was I used a Vanilla Caramel creamer instead of plain. I used a mix of generic and brand name products, but it was a tad pricey. Not as sweet as store bought cocoa mix, which was actually a good thing in my opinion. I am planning on giving these as gifts, so I am pleased that my trial run worked out well. Also, my powdered milk was larger than all the other ingredients, and even though I didn't blend it, everything melted beautifully. I didn't have anything settled to the bottom, like I do w/ store bought cocoa. Though, I might blend future batches just so the milk doesn't settle to the bottom while it's stored. Now I just need to figure out the best place to buy the 1 qt jars. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I wasn't thrilled with the outcome of this recipe! My kids were not too happy either, probably b/c I have let them have store bought Hot Cocoa too often! Not so sugary and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This is great hot cocoa. I made it exactly by the recipe(only in 1/2 portion) so that we could try it and found it to be a family pleaser. Wanted to make it as Christmas gifts in decorated quart jars, but was so pressed for time I needed to take a few shortcuts. This is what I did and it really did have just as much flavor. I used one wal-mart brand canister of hot cocoa mix, one cup of creamer, 3 TBS hershey's cocoa, and one 5 oz pkg of chocolate instant pudding mix. Now, this did make more than a one quart jar, but I kept the extra for us. I did give this yesterday as Christmas gifts and already received phone calls this morning that it is great!!! Thank you so much for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This is pretty tasty. I added cinnamon to mine and gave as gifts. It is expensive to make tho. The cocoa powder and powdered milk are pricey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This is a great recipe, as well as great for gift-giving! I ended up giving out individual servings instead of doing it in a jar. Went to Michael's and got those cellophane candy bags, cut the tops off, filled each bag with a heaping 1/3 cup. Also added marshmellows and those white chocolate peppermint baking chips as they melt very quickly in hot liquid, while giving it a minty flavor. Tied the bag with a festive ribbon, and they make great single-serve holiday gifts for friends and coworkers. They just the entire contents in the cup. Very tasty recipe! Also, I for the non-dairy creamer, I used a flavored one like Caramel Vanilla, and for the chocolate drink mix I used Ghiradelli's Sweetened Cocoa instead as I feel it gives it more flavor than something like Quick drink mix. I also made chocolate covered spoons to mix into the cocoa (or even coffee).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, New York, USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Very good cocoa mix! I accidentally bought the 3.5-ounce boxes of pudding instead of the 5-ounce boxes, but it still turned out plenty thick and chocolatey. I have to admit, I was skeptical about the pudding anyway, but after reading reviews on other cocoa recipes that don't include pudding and seeing that people had added it, I was convinced to try it. I made three batches so I would have enough to give for Christmas gifts and some to keep for my daughters and myself to use. It's not something I'll be able to make very often because of how expensive powdered milk is, but when we want something special this will be on the list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This is a great recipe! I followed the instructions, only substituting french vanilla creamer for the regular and dark cocoa instead of the plain. I also added a bit of cinnamon for flavor. I dressed up some mason jars and gave the mix as gifts along with some homemade marshmallows, too cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I made this today to give out as Christmas gifts. I tried a cup myself first and I loved it. I did make a few alterations though. I used 1c. powdered sugar instead of 1/2 and I used about 3/4-1 c. of cocoa powder. I ran it all through the food processor to mix and get the milk powder as fine as the rest. I turned out wonderfully! I think I will have to make some more just to keep here for the us! I will post pics as soon as I get the rest of my gift basket stuff done. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countygirl28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I think it needs more sugar and chocolate. Its also more costly than I expected. I mixed it in the food processor. Made it for my 2 boys teachers at school. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States