Hot Cocoa Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
My wife and daughter make buckets of this stuff, put it in little jars with mini marshmallows, and gave it out for Christmas treats. I'd use more cocoa, though. a little milky for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
After trying several other hot chocolate mix recipes and being disapointed with the end results, I wasn't sure if I wanted to give this one a try. The reviews convinced me though, and I am so glad they did, this is a fabulous mix! I did add a little extra drink mix and powdered, but we just like it a touch sweeter, otherswise this recipe is perfect! Thankyou so much for sharing this recipe, I am already making our 6th batch. It never seems to last very long around here, it's so popular and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MY9HUNGRYKIDS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Great, send it with my daughter back to college and they love it,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLCPRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
A little sweet and not enough chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hull, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JENNI515
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Very good mix. I added more powdered sugar and chocolate drink mix, as other reviewers did. Serve with milk for a much creamer texture. Not too sweet, but has rich flavors. Added a little cinnamon to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNI515

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Thiensville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I think this is a very good basic recipe. I thought the pudding would make it more chocolatey...it's kind of bland...like warm chocolate milk, which would be good for kids. I had to add more cocoa powder to get a truly chocolatey chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I am assuming I did something incorrect based on previous recipes, but this was just terrible. So terrible in fact I felt compeled to write my first review ever on Allrecipes. I did a test batch before I gave it out as holiday gifts. Not sure where I went wrong. Glad I tested it out before giving it to friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Very smooth, creamy tasting mix. The only thing different I did was I used a Vanilla Caramel creamer instead of plain. I used a mix of generic and brand name products, but it was a tad pricey. Not as sweet as store bought cocoa mix, which was actually a good thing in my opinion. I am planning on giving these as gifts, so I am pleased that my trial run worked out well. Also, my powdered milk was larger than all the other ingredients, and even though I didn't blend it, everything melted beautifully. I didn't have anything settled to the bottom, like I do w/ store bought cocoa. Though, I might blend future batches just so the milk doesn't settle to the bottom while it's stored. Now I just need to figure out the best place to buy the 1 qt jars. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I wasn't thrilled with the outcome of this recipe! My kids were not too happy either, probably b/c I have let them have store bought Hot Cocoa too often! Not so sugary and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This is great hot cocoa. I made it exactly by the recipe(only in 1/2 portion) so that we could try it and found it to be a family pleaser. Wanted to make it as Christmas gifts in decorated quart jars, but was so pressed for time I needed to take a few shortcuts. This is what I did and it really did have just as much flavor. I used one wal-mart brand canister of hot cocoa mix, one cup of creamer, 3 TBS hershey's cocoa, and one 5 oz pkg of chocolate instant pudding mix. Now, this did make more than a one quart jar, but I kept the extra for us. I did give this yesterday as Christmas gifts and already received phone calls this morning that it is great!!! Thank you so much for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States