Hot Cocoa Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I doubled the cocoa and added nutmeg and cinnamon for the holidays. I packaged it with the chocolate spoons on this site for teacher gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Whoops... I meant to say "good":)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I had to add a lot more chocolate drink mix and sugar to this because it was pretty bland, and even then had a pretty bad after taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I made this as part of Christmas gift for my coworkers. I substituted splenda for the powdered sugar and used sugar-free pudding and no sugar added chocolate drink mix. It turned out amazing and so little sugar. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missygail

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mannford, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
In theory, it's great, but in reality it was just OK. I didn't care for the pudding taste myself. My kids like it, although they did mention that it could use more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by erose1110
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This is a good mix. However, it was a little too milky for my liking. I tested the first batch over a couple of days so I had a chance to figure out what was missing. On my second batch I made these changes: increase cocoa powder to 1 full cup, and increase powdered sugar to 3/4 cup. The sweetness of the original recipe was good, but I increased in order to balance with the added coca. It made the biggest difference! The first batch looked like chocolaty milk, but the second batch was a creamy darker brown color. It was a ton better! I dumped out all the jars I from my first batch and added the extra cocoa and powdered sugar. It is not overly chocolaty or sweet. I also took another reviewers suggestion and used chocolate flavored creamer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erose1110

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Arkadelphia, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I made this for Christmas gifts for co-workers and friends, and they all loved it. The ask me to refill their jars when they empty them. The pudding in the mix makes it very creamy and chocolately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINK4MEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
as printed, this came out quite bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I thought this was good. The type of creamer you use could add to the sweetness of this cocoa as the flavored ones contain sugar. If you use 8 oz. (1 cup) of hot H2O the 1/3 c. is plenty chocolatly for me. I added about 1 tsp. Andes mint chips to mine and it was good and not overpowering. It does not make 24 servings at 1/3 c. each. I have made this for baby shower favors and measured out each favor with 2 servings per bag and ran out 2 times. I now have to reduce the recipe to 10 servings hopeing to get at least 8. I also used good Ghirardelli cocoa and ground chocolate with cocoa for the 2 chocolates. Maybe that's why mine didn't taste watered down. I think processing the dry milk is the way to go. I added marshallows to the top of the cellophane cone bage and tied with a ribbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I just made this for the first time, since I'm a hot cocoa addict and a cold fall is upon us. It sounded like it would be delicious and different from other recipes I've made for home made hot cocoa, but the taste is still pretty much the same. I followed the recipe exactly, but found that 1/3 c. of powder into hot water just was not enough. It seemed very watered down to me. So I upped it to 1/2 cup and that was better. I do think I may put some more cocoa into the mix to take away the sweetness a bit and to make it richer. It did not make as much as I thought it would either, so I'll make it again with some adjustments and see what I end up with. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States