Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Good and simple recipe, I did it a bit differently, I didn't use the egg and I added a pinch of Cayenne pepper and it came out fantastic. Oh and I did it all on a sauce pan since my microwave since mine doesn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Although this recipe was created for preparation in a microwave, I prepared mine using the stove top. Microwaves are notoriously finicky. And then there was the issue with the egg. For all those that had an issue with "scrambled" egg, be sure to "temper" the egg first. For all those bakers and cooks who don't know...tempering an egg is done by adding the hot liquid of the recipe to the egg a little at a time until the egg is warm enough to throw in and not scramble it in the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracie Huff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Best hot chocolate ever... I doubled this recipe and didn't use egg. I also used semisweet chocolate chips mixed with dark chocolate chips melted in microwave and then stirred into the 2% milk warming on the stove. Whisked constantly until hot. Served, topped with whip cream and grated Ghiradellie 60% cocoa sprinkled on whip cream. Cinnamon is what makes this recipe. Again don't use the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA
Living In: Lexington Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
it was great and awsome u should try to make it often its good for the mornings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This is the best homemade hot chocolate I've ever had! I did this on the stove because I don't like using a microwave, and it was perfect. I also used chocolate chips which melted just fine in the warm milk. SUPER YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
it was amazing, but it came out with egg chunks even though i mixed the egg very well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Wonderful! Instead of mixing the egg into the chocolate mixture, it works well to mix just a little of the warm chocolate mixture in with the egg. Whisk well, slowly adding more and more hot chocolate with the egg. Then when you add the egg mixture to the hot chocolate it won't be lumpy. We made it on the stove top and it worked great. It's nice to have an after school snack with some extra protein. Thanks, Steph!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
this was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I used two and a half cups of skim milk, a cup of cream, six squares of chocolate and added a little chili powder and a little vanilla. I omitted the egg. An excellent base, though, for alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
i looked at this recipe thinking it was gonna be delishh. but then i poured it into the cup and chunks of eggs came out. me and my friend were like whats going on here. aha. i think next time im gonna skip thee egg. but it was delish other wise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States