Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I make this all the time now, but without the egg. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Great recipe, especially if you have a vitamix! Just dumped all the ingredients in without grating the chocolate & about 4 minutes later, steamy, frothy, yummy hot chocolate. Everything blended up perfectly. Will be using this again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Just so you all who are talking about clumps of egg, if you temper it by mixing a little bit of hte chocolate mixture in with the whisked egg, and then add it to the rest of the chocolate mixture, it will prevent clumps WAY better AND tends to help with the creaminess of the hot chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Yummy...I Just made this for my boys!!! I made mine on the stove and used Merkins choc. If you beat the egg you will not have problems. I added marshmallows and dipped a candy cane in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nacole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I did this on the stove top on low. I also used semisweet chocolate morsels. Just stirred continuously until hot. I also left out the egg. Fabulous...my kids and neighbor kids loved it. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I poured everything in the blender and then heated it up on the stove, no egg bits. this works for making pudding which calls for eggs, and this way you can use the yolks and whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I customized this recipe to meet the needs of my family. I have a child with food allergies and so I made it gluten and casein free. The substitutes I used were rice milk, GFCF chocolate chips (which I did not even try to grate) and honey for the T of sugar (but then I topped it with GF marshmallows, so substituting the honey was kind of pointless, but oh well). I whisked the egg very well before adding it to the mixture and I had very few lumps. My kids drank this up! I had a mug, as well, and the cinnamon was very nice! We'll be making this again! Next time I think I'll make it on the stove, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Delicious! You must work the egg in slowly, whisking constantly. I used 2 cups 1% milk and 1 cup evaporated milk. Also, a pinch of cayanne and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Taste was good, but the egg cooked and there were bits of it in the cup. I drank it anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Good and simple recipe, I did it a bit differently, I didn't use the egg and I added a pinch of Cayenne pepper and it came out fantastic. Oh and I did it all on a sauce pan since my microwave since mine doesn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States