Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Just so you all who are talking about clumps of egg, if you temper it by mixing a little bit of hte chocolate mixture in with the whisked egg, and then add it to the rest of the chocolate mixture, it will prevent clumps WAY better AND tends to help with the creaminess of the hot chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Yummy...I Just made this for my boys!!! I made mine on the stove and used Merkins choc. If you beat the egg you will not have problems. I added marshmallows and dipped a candy cane in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nacole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I did this on the stove top on low. I also used semisweet chocolate morsels. Just stirred continuously until hot. I also left out the egg. Fabulous...my kids and neighbor kids loved it. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I poured everything in the blender and then heated it up on the stove, no egg bits. this works for making pudding which calls for eggs, and this way you can use the yolks and whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I customized this recipe to meet the needs of my family. I have a child with food allergies and so I made it gluten and casein free. The substitutes I used were rice milk, GFCF chocolate chips (which I did not even try to grate) and honey for the T of sugar (but then I topped it with GF marshmallows, so substituting the honey was kind of pointless, but oh well). I whisked the egg very well before adding it to the mixture and I had very few lumps. My kids drank this up! I had a mug, as well, and the cinnamon was very nice! We'll be making this again! Next time I think I'll make it on the stove, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Delicious! You must work the egg in slowly, whisking constantly. I used 2 cups 1% milk and 1 cup evaporated milk. Also, a pinch of cayanne and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Taste was good, but the egg cooked and there were bits of it in the cup. I drank it anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Good and simple recipe, I did it a bit differently, I didn't use the egg and I added a pinch of Cayenne pepper and it came out fantastic. Oh and I did it all on a sauce pan since my microwave since mine doesn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Although this recipe was created for preparation in a microwave, I prepared mine using the stove top. Microwaves are notoriously finicky. And then there was the issue with the egg. For all those that had an issue with "scrambled" egg, be sure to "temper" the egg first. For all those bakers and cooks who don't know...tempering an egg is done by adding the hot liquid of the recipe to the egg a little at a time until the egg is warm enough to throw in and not scramble it in the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracie Huff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Best hot chocolate ever... I doubled this recipe and didn't use egg. I also used semisweet chocolate chips mixed with dark chocolate chips melted in microwave and then stirred into the 2% milk warming on the stove. Whisked constantly until hot. Served, topped with whip cream and grated Ghiradellie 60% cocoa sprinkled on whip cream. Cinnamon is what makes this recipe. Again don't use the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA
Living In: Lexington Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Egg Cream

See how to make a classic drink from the old soda fountain days!

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States