Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
the best hot chocolate i have had in years
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Honestly, way more trouble than its worth....BUT, if you wanted to really wow guests I propose the following: Do this on the stove, not the microwave Ignore the egg. Be sure to use Whole Milk. Heat the milk with a Vanilla Bean and Cinnamon stick to steep. Add the chocolate 1/4c per 2c milk which is a little bit more than what the recipe calls for. Before service, BE SURE TO STRAIN which will ensure a silky smooth texture without any choco, cinnamon, or milk bits at the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
It was yummy. I was a bit sceptical of egg in the microwave but it was fine. Probably would be good with out cinnamon too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PatiO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I wasn't quite sure why I needed to add the egg, so I just left it out. It was delicious and the kids went crazy over it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I made this because I really wanted some hot chocolate and we were out. We were also out of regular milk, so I used dry milk. After cooking, and looking at it(it had lumps), I balled up the recipe and threw it in the garabage. I decided to taste it anyway after stirring it more(it works with chocolate chips too), and the taste was truly delightful! I was really surprised! So, I came upstairs and reprinted this recipe.This was very good! Thanks for the warning about the lumps. I will do better next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Mmm, absolutely delicious!! I loved it, the cinammon really added flavor! I was trying to use up some Nestle swirled semisweet and white chocolate chips leftover from another recipe, so I couldn't grate the chocolate. I melted them in them microwave instead (put in microwave on medium for 1 minute, take out and stir, put it in again for 30-60 seconds before taking out and stirring again). I didn't have any lumps of eggs mentioned in other reviews. What I did was whisk it vigorously for 3-5 minutes :) Really a keeper-- I'm definitely switching to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Just make sure you beat the eggs REALLY good or you get little chunks which are really yucky. but it's delicious if you do it right. I take frozen chocolate chips and put them in my small chopper and it works great for the chocolate. A dash of vanilla is really good also. And we top ours with a dallop of whipped cream. ummmm.... perfect for coming in out of the cold and warming little hands up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
i tried that recently and i loved it.i also added some brown sugar ,and chocolate syrup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
The egg must be properly beaten beforehand or you'll get lumps in your hot chocolate. If you do, you can always strain it, as I found the egg hardly affected the taste at all. I made the same recipe again using 1 cup of milk, a smaller fraction of the egg, and chocolate drops in stead of grated chocolate. I will omit the egg next time. A good recipe overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States