Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
did a single serving in my 1 3/4 cup mug.recipe 1 1/2cups 1%milk,1/4 cup nestle's semi-sweet chips, 1 1/2 tsp sugar 1/8 tsp vietnamese cinnamon 1egg 1/16 tsp vanilla bean paste. put milk on high medium, I have a stirrring attachment on my hand blender. drop egg in cup and stir. as milk heats up add a small amount of warm milk about three times up until you add the choc chips and stir those in milk add alittle more to cup and stir again then dump into pan an stir in with cinnamon and bean paste and sugar. pour into cup when hot enough to drink. easy and marvelous. I always substitue bean paste for extract. All you have to do is taste side by side and you'll almost never use extract again. It is $9 a bottle but keeps forever. I might eliminate the cinnamon next time for a more pure chocolate taste. I have done this 4 times and dropped the cinnamon. Liked it better. A REAL side benifit with a whole egg it is so filling that I"M full all morning. Have dropped 2 lbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I make this all the time now, but without the egg. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Great recipe, especially if you have a vitamix! Just dumped all the ingredients in without grating the chocolate & about 4 minutes later, steamy, frothy, yummy hot chocolate. Everything blended up perfectly. Will be using this again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Just so you all who are talking about clumps of egg, if you temper it by mixing a little bit of hte chocolate mixture in with the whisked egg, and then add it to the rest of the chocolate mixture, it will prevent clumps WAY better AND tends to help with the creaminess of the hot chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Yummy...I Just made this for my boys!!! I made mine on the stove and used Merkins choc. If you beat the egg you will not have problems. I added marshmallows and dipped a candy cane in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nacole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I did this on the stove top on low. I also used semisweet chocolate morsels. Just stirred continuously until hot. I also left out the egg. Fabulous...my kids and neighbor kids loved it. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I poured everything in the blender and then heated it up on the stove, no egg bits. this works for making pudding which calls for eggs, and this way you can use the yolks and whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I customized this recipe to meet the needs of my family. I have a child with food allergies and so I made it gluten and casein free. The substitutes I used were rice milk, GFCF chocolate chips (which I did not even try to grate) and honey for the T of sugar (but then I topped it with GF marshmallows, so substituting the honey was kind of pointless, but oh well). I whisked the egg very well before adding it to the mixture and I had very few lumps. My kids drank this up! I had a mug, as well, and the cinnamon was very nice! We'll be making this again! Next time I think I'll make it on the stove, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Punkymom3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Delicious! You must work the egg in slowly, whisking constantly. I used 2 cups 1% milk and 1 cup evaporated milk. Also, a pinch of cayanne and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Taste was good, but the egg cooked and there were bits of it in the cup. I drank it anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States