Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by TheBakingDude
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Whipped this up in no more than the suggested 10 minutes. My kids loved it w/ lots of marshmallows. INSTANT hit ~ see my photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBakingDude

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Good, but i made a few changes. **TIP** TEMPER THE EGG!!!! That means slowly adding some of the hot liquid while whisking the egg. This will bring the egg up to the same temp as the milk with out the temp shock and then scrabbling. I did mine on the stovetop since i don't have a microwave. I also doubled the chocolate that the recipe calls for. And i used chocolate chips i had in the cupboard! Don't bother grating the chocolate! Either cheat and use chips, or do a rough chop with a knife on a cutting board if you're using a bar of chocolate. I hope this helps some people! Love and peace! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrimsonJewel

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
it was delishus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Temper the egg(whisk the entire cooking time), use on a stove top, omit the sugar if using chocolate chips, and add a dash of cayanne if you're feeling adventurous. I also kept the cinnamon, but used just a little less then called for. I just sent my husband off to work 20 minutes ago with a big smile on his face! Next time i might add a packet of starchucks instant coffee to it as well. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GingerbreadMommy
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I did this over the stove top. I'm wary of letting kids use the microwave and hot liquids. Liquids in the microwave can look deceptively still and then explode when you try to take it out of the microwave. The taste wasn't quite strong enough. I added more chocolate but I used a Toblerone chocolate bar and I added more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GingerbreadMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This needs more chocolate! Approximately double the 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I just tried this recipe and it was amazingly good! Perfect for rainy days! I think the egg is the most important part- makes the creamy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
did a single serving in my 1 3/4 cup mug.recipe 1 1/2cups 1%milk,1/4 cup nestle's semi-sweet chips, 1 1/2 tsp sugar 1/8 tsp vietnamese cinnamon 1egg 1/16 tsp vanilla bean paste. put milk on high medium, I have a stirrring attachment on my hand blender. drop egg in cup and stir. as milk heats up add a small amount of warm milk about three times up until you add the choc chips and stir those in milk add alittle more to cup and stir again then dump into pan an stir in with cinnamon and bean paste and sugar. pour into cup when hot enough to drink. easy and marvelous. I always substitue bean paste for extract. All you have to do is taste side by side and you'll almost never use extract again. It is $9 a bottle but keeps forever. I might eliminate the cinnamon next time for a more pure chocolate taste. I have done this 4 times and dropped the cinnamon. Liked it better. A REAL side benifit with a whole egg it is so filling that I"M full all morning. Have dropped 2 lbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I make this all the time now, but without the egg. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Great recipe, especially if you have a vitamix! Just dumped all the ingredients in without grating the chocolate & about 4 minutes later, steamy, frothy, yummy hot chocolate. Everything blended up perfectly. Will be using this again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Egg Cream

See how to make a classic drink from the old soda fountain days!

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States