Hot Chocolate Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This recipe needed a lot of tweeking. It wasn't sweet enough and didn't have much of a chocolate flavor. I added 1 cup more of cocoa powder and about 1.5 cups of powdered sugar and used 1/2 cup mix per 1 cup of water or milk instead of a 1/4 cup as recipe said. It was a big improvement
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laroia vanarsdale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This was kindoff flavourless so I added additional cocoa, sugar and crushed some dark chocolate chips that I had. So much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
It didn't mix into the liquid and it was really salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Easy and great to have a mix that is on hand. It needs a bit of vanilla to boost the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sagemoon

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This is a good alternative to the store brands, just simple ingredients. It works better if blend the dry ingredients in the blender. The milk powder will dissolve better when you make the hot chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Made as directed. I liked it a lot; partially because it tasted great, and partially because it has just four simple ingredients. I use it mostly with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Whisk

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This is a yummy recipe. I didn't have high quality dry milk but once i mixed it all together i put it in the food processor until it got very powdery and it was easier to dissolve. I used about 3 tablespoons of it in an medium sized mug.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Very good and easy! I took note of what a previous reviewer said about cheaper powdered milk being more granular, and since the cheap stuff is what I had on hand, I put the dry milk in the blender first and made it into a nice, fine powder. Then I blended the rest of the ingredients in with it (I also used powdered sugar instead of granulated). My husband usually turns up his nose at homemade cocoa mix, but I think with the smooth texture of this method he might actually approve (and hooray for going without the artificial sweeteners and other garbage they hide in the store-bought stuff!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
We enjoy this very much. I add a little more cocoa and put it all in a blender or food processor to completely mix into "store bought" consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mouseketeer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Looking for something to put in spaghetti sauce jars I've been saving all year for Christmas gifts and choose hot cocoa. After looking at lots of recipes and comments, I chose this one because of its simplicity and preference not to use powdered creamers (unhealthy and full of ). Unfortunately, the cocoa tastes much better with the powdered creamer. However, it can be made as is, and then add real half-and-half to the cocoa when making it. I increased the sugar to 1-1/2 cups, increased the cocoa powder to 2/3 cup, and added 2 cups powdered creamer. I also blended all the ingredients in a food processor to make more refined. Next I'm going to try a batch and add crushed up candy canes while in the food processor. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Egg Cream

See how to make a classic drink from the old soda fountain days!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States