Hot Chocolate Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
An addendum to my review. I found that if you use high quality powdered milk, it's better. I bought Carnation, which was very fine powder, and it worked the best with this recipe. Buying cheap generic store brand powdered milk, which tends to be more granular, doesn't work as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Made this for my boys this morning and they loved it! It wasn't too sweet (like most mixes we have) and was great for a rainy, cold morning. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Looking for something to put in spaghetti sauce jars I've been saving all year for Christmas gifts and choose hot cocoa. After looking at lots of recipes and comments, I chose this one because of its simplicity and preference not to use powdered creamers (unhealthy and full of ). Unfortunately, the cocoa tastes much better with the powdered creamer. However, it can be made as is, and then add real half-and-half to the cocoa when making it. I increased the sugar to 1-1/2 cups, increased the cocoa powder to 2/3 cup, and added 2 cups powdered creamer. I also blended all the ingredients in a food processor to make more refined. Next I'm going to try a batch and add crushed up candy canes while in the food processor. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Very good and easy! I took note of what a previous reviewer said about cheaper powdered milk being more granular, and since the cheap stuff is what I had on hand, I put the dry milk in the blender first and made it into a nice, fine powder. Then I blended the rest of the ingredients in with it (I also used powdered sugar instead of granulated). My husband usually turns up his nose at homemade cocoa mix, but I think with the smooth texture of this method he might actually approve (and hooray for going without the artificial sweeteners and other garbage they hide in the store-bought stuff!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I really try to follow directions exactly then if my personal preference differs adjust. The recipe prepared as written is indeed wonderfully chocolatey but I needed to adjust to suit me by adding another 1/2 cup powered milk. That made the beverage perfect for me, perfect relation sweet and chocolate to the milk. I absolutely concur I do want chemical other stuff in my hot cocoa, thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
We use milk to make our hot cocoa, so I decreased the powdered milk to 1 packet (roughly 1 1/4C). I also increased the cocoa and sugar to 1C each. We use 2 heaping spoonfuls per mug of hot milk. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This is a good alternative to the store brands, just simple ingredients. It works better if blend the dry ingredients in the blender. The milk powder will dissolve better when you make the hot chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This is a yummy recipe. I didn't have high quality dry milk but once i mixed it all together i put it in the food processor until it got very powdery and it was easier to dissolve. I used about 3 tablespoons of it in an medium sized mug.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Easy and great to have a mix that is on hand. It needs a bit of vanilla to boost the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sagemoon

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
We enjoy this very much. I add a little more cocoa and put it all in a blender or food processor to completely mix into "store bought" consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mouseketeer

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Egg Cream

See how to make a classic drink from the old soda fountain days!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States