Hot Chocolate Mix II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This is a very good hot chocolate mix. I did as others advised and added chocolate pudding mix to mine...I added two boxes to the full recipe. I would also have to say that the appearance was a little on the lumpy side. There was no problem dissolving it, but to make it look "prettier" if you are giving it as a gift, I would send it thru the food processor or blender to get rid of the powdered milk lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockway, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
Very yummy drink mix! I decided to make this to give as Christmas gifts, so I had to taste it to make sure it was alright. After a couple cups, I figured out the problem. The ingredients are just fine (actually, as another review suggested, I added some pudding mix to it), but the instructions were a little off. It tastes the best with 4 tablespoons instead of three, so I'll be sure to suggest that when I give it to people. Other than that, it tastes as if I had made up a pot of hot chocolate from scratch! Much better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This same recipe has been in my family for years! My 3 yr old just loves it! I actually use a tall kitchen garbage bag to mix it, then cut a hole in the end to pour into containers. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
5 stars when made with a box of instant chocolate pudding and a teaspoon of salt. Tastes great and makes a great gift. I filled mason jars with this, topped with marshmallows, and gave as Christmas presents to co-workers. FYI this recipe filled 9 (8.5oz) mason jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
This is a very Yummy hot chocolate!! Added a box chocolate pudding mix per half batch and used rounded measurements on the NesQuick and creamer. Very delicious and easy to make! I think I will try with vanilla or hazelnut creamer next time for a twist on a classic. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
I gave this mix with a batch of scones for holiday gifts. Everyone enjoyed it. It seemed a little thin until I added the chocolate pudding mix to it then it was much more creamy. I even cut out a lot of the added sugar and subtituted an artificial sweetener and it tasted just as good as the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
After taste testing several hot chocolate mixes this recipe won! It was not too chocolately and not too bland (which was the problem with other recipes). A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2000
Very easy and quick. Tastes good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This mix is amazing! I'm skeptical of homemade mixes, but this tastes great. I followed other reviews and added chocolate pudding and 1 tsp of salt. It tastes just like store-bought and my children and husband approve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
After losing my mom's "secret family recipe" for hot chocolate mix, this one is just the same! YUM! I would add about a tsp. of salt, (sounds weird I know, but it seems to enhance the flavors.) Also, we always liked to substitute flavored non-dairy creamers if we were making the cocoa for gifts, but leave it plain if we were making it for everyday home use and add flavored liquid creamer later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joesgirljeri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States