Hot Chocolate Mix II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Who doesn't love hot chocolate? This is simple to make, and the kids, now grandkids all love it. Winter hangs around a long time in Michigan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This recipe is awesome. I added a large box of chocolate instant pudding. Decorated some glass canisters and added marshmellows to the top of the jar. Please raved! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macedonia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I also add a box of chocolate pudding. Makes this recipe even better!! I put everything in the blender to give it a finer texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I tried this recipe, and I doubled the amount of sugar, thinking that 3tsp for 4 cups was too little. I used a non-premium brand of chocolate. Either because of the chocolate, or my messing with the recipe, it was too sweet! So for those tempted to up the sugar level, don’t! A wonderful drink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Too watery. Tried adding stuff to make it better, can't get the balance right. It's so watery it doesn't even taste right in milk. Very sad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Made this and added about 1/3 cup of unsweetened cocoa and a box of instant choco fudge pudding powder. I also used french vanilla creamer. EVERYONE loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This recipe was just ok. When prepared exactly as specified, it is too watery & not chocolatey enough. To make it creamier, I added two boxes of chocolate pudding mix, and to make it more flavorful, I added 2 tbsp salt & 1 cup unsweetened cocoa. I also recommend 4 tbsp added to 8 oz of water, or use milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Kids (12, 10) loved this! They even added some to cold milk! I reduced the recipe t0 5 servings so we could try it before making a larger batch. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
It tasted kinda watery with only a mild chocolate flavor so I added a couple more ounces of creamer, a total of four boxes of pudding mix, 1 1/2 cups more of powdered sugar, a cup of granulated sugar and a cup of cocoa powder. My daughter discovered that it has a very creamy taste and consistency when made with milk instead of water. Nice basic recipe to build on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lavonne_tobias

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
As written, this recipe is worthy of giving as a gift for the holidays. But, a couple of alterations put it over the top! I added a box of instant pudding as suggested by others, which gave it a wonderful creaminess. I also threw in a little Herseys Special Dark baking cocoa...WONDERFUL! I whizzed it in the food processor for a bit, to give it a nice smooth consistency. It dissolves nicely that way. This is a gift, so I taste~tested a cup before shipping, adding a sprinkle of cinnamon to my cup...Soooo good! I'm sending this with mini marshmallows and coconut macaroons III from this site. Merry merry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darkgardyner

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States