Hot Chocolate Mix II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
Great for gifts - however, 2 teaspoons/cup of water was far too watery, we increased it to 2 tablespoons to taste more chocolatey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
The reommended mix is somewhat watery. I used 3 tsp. for a more chocolately taste. I also added vanilla powder (1 tbsp) to the mix. Very good! Can be made with milk. Sometimes with both the water or milk there were particles at the bottom of the drink that turned me off, eventhough I *knew* they were from the powdered milk. To avoid this, make sure you don't have too much mix in the cup, and the temp. is high enough to disolve everything when you add it to the liquid. Keep mixing as you sip...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenfield Park, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
Delicious and easy to make! Great and handy to put in your bags.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
YUCK. If this rates five stars, I'm really, REALLY hesitant about trying the one that rates three!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
A+ really good hot chocolate. I too added the 3 cups drink mix and 1/4 cup cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
Definitely kid-friendly! Good flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I doubled the powdered milk and substituted sugar for splenda and it is great!!!1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
great basic mix. The more typical 2 tablespoons of mix tastes more like cocoa mix though. Typo?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christinasbakery

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I was so pleased to find a recipe that didn't have creamer in it but this still wasn't to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Score! Three ingredients=check. No high fructose corn syrup=check. Tastes as good as store-bought=check. The only two things I did differently were increasing the cocoa to almost 1 cup; and using 1/4 c. mix per serving (which is what the canister from the grocery says to use). Previously I have made this with confectioners' sugar instead of regular white, and it tasted bad. It needed salt and vanilla when served. But made this way, with only dry milk, white granular sugar, and cocoa, it needed nothing! Little sis was happy that it didn't leave residue in the bottom of the cup, too. We added whipped cream on top when we drank it, but it didn't need that. I might give this as gifts this Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States