Hot Chocolate Mix II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Sugar High
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I'll give it 4 stars cause I didn't use the recipe's measurements, I just went off of taste. I think I used about 7 cups of dry milk, 3 c cocoa powder and enough cups of sugar to make it sweet enough. I scooped some into individual cone shaped bags with crushed candy canes, milk chocolate and white chocolate chips, and mini marshmallows. I handed them out as gifts along with candy cane biscotti. I also make my hot cocoa with hot milk instead of water, it comes out a lot creamier and frothy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar High

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This is my first one star rating. I followed the directions and doubled it. It was so watery. I put 4 servings of the powder in 2 servings of water and it was too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Greensboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This is a good basic recipe. I am thinking of adding cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger to it next time to make a spiced hot chocolate mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimbernic
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I might have to try and make this one again just to make sure my measurements were correct. When I made this I thought there was way too much cocoa powder and not enough sugar for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbernic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I doubled the powdered milk and substituted sugar for splenda and it is great!!!1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Made this with dark cocoa powder. Try some mix in your coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I used a food processor to make the mix easier to disolve when mixes with water. Mixing with warm milk makes it creamer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
I used this recipe to make Christmas gifts a couple years ago. It was a hit with everyone. I also like to mix up a big batch and store it in a Tupperware container so I always have hot chocolate on hand. It saves money to do it this way than always buying the packets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pendleton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I was so pleased to find a recipe that didn't have creamer in it but this still wasn't to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
YUCK. If this rates five stars, I'm really, REALLY hesitant about trying the one that rates three!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States