Hot Chocolate Mix I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I got a similar recipe many years ago, but my recipe makes much more and is more rich and chocolate. I use an 8 qt. box powdered milk, 16 oz creamer, 2 lb container of Quik, 1-lb box powdered sugar, and 1/2 cup Hershey's unsweetened cocoa. Mix in a large tub (I use a huge (I think it's either a 3 or 5 gallon) plastic ice cream container and shake the container before I give it a stir). I give it to people for Christmas with a loaf of strawberry bread or pralines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I agree with the others who have reviewed this recipe. With those adjustments it is wonderful. I do run my mix through the food processor before I declare it done. It mixes much faster with the water when I take the time for this last step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I thought this was going to be the recipe that my mom used to make when I was in high school but it's not. Perhaps it is because the NesQuick has different ingredients than the old Nestle's Quick. I know it has less sugar than its predecessor. So, I made similar changes as everyone else and it turned out fine, especially when marshmallows are melted in it. Thank you to the one who submitted this recipe that gave me the base mix. Once I had that, the changes were easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
People you need to read the recipe properly your "advice" is to up the instant chocolate drink mix to 3 cups. The recipe calls for a 16 ounce container, a 16 ounce container is a little more then 3 1/2 cups of powder. I think people are seeing that 16 ounce and automatically thinking that is 2 cups. There are 16 ounces in two cups of liquid, it doesn't work the same with a powder. I have made this exact recipe for over 35 years and have never once had any complaints or anyone tell me they tweaked it any. Thank you Fran for posting it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Very good recipe, but caution--very expensive TO MAKE--POWDERED MILK ALONE WAS $16, NOT TO MENTION THE COST OF COCOA AND ALL THE CREAMERS.. RESERVE THIS RECIPE FOR ALL THE SPECIAL PEOPLE IN YOUR LIFE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
O, Yes this is good. It makes 1 gallon of dry mix. For the weight watcher, it's 3 points-plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This was great! However, I could not find a review that told me how to mix this great volume of powders together!! A hand sifter is not sufficient! I used my food processor in 8 batches to get the consistency of all powders very fine. Then dumped everything in a 270 ounce capacity Lock & Lock container (bought from QVC). Let the kids shake it well. Ingredients: a 25.6-oz box of Great Value (walmart brand) powdered milk measured 11 cups. Used an 8-oz container of Great Value French Vanilla coffee creamer. (This made it taste like marshmallows were melted in the hot chocolate.) Used an entire container 21.8-oz of Nestle Quick, and the 2.5 cups of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This is the same recipe we've had in our family for years, and a true holiday favorite. Every year we pick a flavored coffee creamer (dried, of course) to add for an extra treat. Friends and family can't wait to see what we've chosen. This year it's french vanilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I don't know the exact ratios because I usually make a smaller batch, but this receipe is great. It is what my mom would make a big batch at Christmas and we would drink it all winter long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I scaled down the recipe down to 20 servings cause I wanted my family to try it out before considering giving as holiday gifts. They did like the flavor but said they weren't really impressed. We did add mini marshmellows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States