Hot Chocolate Mix I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
This is a wonderful mix. I did as others advised and used 3 C. chocolate drink mix (I used Nestle's Quick) and added a heaping 1/4 C. cocoa. This was wonderful. It made one of those 1 1/2 gallon ziploc bags full. I am giving as Christmas gifts and have already recieved many compliments. I bought the clear gift (treat) bags from the dollar store and put the mix in there and tied with pretty ribbon. Stuck the mix in pretty mugs with a tag and voila! Instant gift. You might want to put on the tag "mix with either hot water or for a cremier hot chocolate use hot milk). BTW, it is much prettier if you will add a few mini marshmallows on the top of the mix-the color contrast of the white marshmallows looks great in the bags. Thanks Fran! I'm making the 3rd batch tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
I've used this mix and variations for many years. Here's one bit of advice I'd give, please use high quality ingredients. Milk or creamer with an off flavor will adversely affect the mix. I often add more cocoa powder or an excellent quality baking chocolate powder to boost the chocolate flavor. Sometimes I use a little less creamer to reduce the fat content. You can also successfully reduce the sugar content by using Splenda for part of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
This recipe is great! I made a different mix last year that was awful! This is a keeper!!! I added 3 cups of chocolate drink mix like other's suggested, and used half regular creamer and half french vanila....YUMMY! It tastes just like the gourmet hot chocolate mix I bought last year! Everyone in my family loves it! No more store bought packets for us anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
This has to be one of the creamiest hot cocoas I have ever tasted! My kids enjoyed helping make it as well, and we filled jars and will be giving this as a gift this year for the holidays. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
I used flavored, dry non-dairy creamer and it is wonderful! Different flavors for different people in beautifly decorated jars make a nice Christmas gift. Added a mug, some cookies and a small book for the perfect teachers gift bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
I took the advice of KB and initially put in 3c. of instant chocolate mix and substituted in the half regular non-dairy creamer and half french vanilla. I also put in the 1/4c. of cocoa. I would definately recommend this to anyone. Thanks KB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
I followed the suggestions of the other comments, plus added a whole container of French Vanilla creamer and 1/4 c. malted milk powder. This is wonderful stuff! We probably won't go back to those little envelopes of mix again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
great tasting mix, much better than the water base mixes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
I also took others advice & used more chocolate milk mix & added cocoa (I didn't even measure either one, i just poured until it "looked right")& used French Vanilla creamer. This is THE best hot chocolate I have ever had. I don't think I will ever buy those little packets again, I'm pretty sure my kids will refuse to drink it at this point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
I also used the additions provided below (french vanilla, more chocolate drink mix, cocoa) and this turned out WONDERFUL. I'm making it for Christmas gifts in inexpensive apothecary jars. DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States