Hot Chocolate Mix I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
This recipe was tasty, but I made a few changes. Although it is very creamy and sweet, it wasn't chocolaty enough. Instead of a 16 oz. container of chocolate milk mix, I bought a bigger container and ended up using three full cups. Then I also added 1/4 cup of cocoa for a richer taste and a darker color. Lastly, I used 1/2 cup of regular creamer, and 1/2 cup of French Vanilla flavored creamer. The end result was great, and I made 48 decorated mason mugs full of this mix for our school's Santa's Workshop. In the instructions, I also added a variation: "for a delicious mocha flavor, add 1/2 tsp. of instant coffee". My 10 year old son LOVED making these with me! Very easy for kids and not much mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
This is a wonderful mix. I did as others advised and used 3 C. chocolate drink mix (I used Nestle's Quick) and added a heaping 1/4 C. cocoa. This was wonderful. It made one of those 1 1/2 gallon ziploc bags full. I am giving as Christmas gifts and have already recieved many compliments. I bought the clear gift (treat) bags from the dollar store and put the mix in there and tied with pretty ribbon. Stuck the mix in pretty mugs with a tag and voila! Instant gift. You might want to put on the tag "mix with either hot water or for a cremier hot chocolate use hot milk). BTW, it is much prettier if you will add a few mini marshmallows on the top of the mix-the color contrast of the white marshmallows looks great in the bags. Thanks Fran! I'm making the 3rd batch tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
I too had to tweak this a bit for my own taste as follows: 11 cups dry milk powder 2 1/2-3 cups confectioners' sugar (to taste..after mixed try a cup if not sweet enough add more ) 1-1 1/2 C. cocoa powder 1 (32 ounce) container instant chocolate drink mix 1 (8 ounce) container powdered non-dairy Chocolate creamer 1 (8 ounce) container powdered non-dairy French Vanilla creamer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
I'm not sure why this is a 4 star rating when almost everyone has had to change it significantly. I tried a small batch of this as suggested in the recipe and it turned out to be milky hot water with a hint of chocolate in it. I then followed others advice and it turned out wonderfully, but let's give credit where it's due, to the reviewer who suggested upping it to 3 cups chocolate mix, adding 1/4 cup cocoa and half the cream be french vanilla flavor. When I made it that way, it turned from a flavorless mystery drink into a nice gift for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
I've used this mix and variations for many years. Here's one bit of advice I'd give, please use high quality ingredients. Milk or creamer with an off flavor will adversely affect the mix. I often add more cocoa powder or an excellent quality baking chocolate powder to boost the chocolate flavor. Sometimes I use a little less creamer to reduce the fat content. You can also successfully reduce the sugar content by using Splenda for part of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
This recipe is great! I made a different mix last year that was awful! This is a keeper!!! I added 3 cups of chocolate drink mix like other's suggested, and used half regular creamer and half french vanila....YUMMY! It tastes just like the gourmet hot chocolate mix I bought last year! Everyone in my family loves it! No more store bought packets for us anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
This was a wonderful recipe. I followed the previous advice and add Nestle Quick mix and i used 4 oz chocolate creamer and 4 oz french vanilla creamer and it was great. I also added cocoa to make it darker in color. I also bought mini Hershey's kisses to drop in the cup and it made it even better. My family enjoys it and says it's better than the store bought. Also, I tried it with liquid french vanilla creamer in each cup I make and that taste wonderful. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annie
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I changed this recipe quite a bit, but it was still an awesome base. I just added a bunch more chocolate powder and nesquick. This is so good, I can't even being to tell you how much I love it. i put it in jars layered with marshmallows for gifts and they're a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
I thought the recipe was an easy and good recipe. I took hints from other reviews and added extra chocolate mix, and cocoa. I made it a "gourmet" chocolate mix by adding mini marshmallows and milk chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
Good base recipe. I took advice and used 3 cups choc. drink mix. I then added 1/4 c. fancy baking cocoa and 1/4 c. unsweetened cocoa for more color. I guess my math must be off though, because I only got 48 servings. I made a cup with 3 heaping TBL. to 1 cup water and it was great. I then measured out 6 servings into a pint jar. I only got 8 pint size jars (4 of them with marshmallows)! My math teacher says 8 times 6 is 48! I guess the tablespoons Fran used were measuring spoons that were leveled?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States