Hot Chocolate Mix I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Annie
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I changed this recipe quite a bit, but it was still an awesome base. I just added a bunch more chocolate powder and nesquick. This is so good, I can't even being to tell you how much I love it. i put it in jars layered with marshmallows for gifts and they're a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This was a great start, but I tweaked it a lot by using suggestions from previous entries. I used 3 cups choc. drink mix, 1/2 C. french vanilla creamer, 1/2C. regular creamer, 1/4C. unsweetened cocoa, 1 bag of semi-sweet baking chips, 3/4 bag of small marshmallows and 1 large milk chocolate hershey bar shaved. Another idea I had was instead of using choc. chips and shaved chocolate, use the chopped Andi's candies to make mint hot chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
A good standard hot chocolate recipe. I used 5 T per 8 oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I thought this was pretty good, but missing a little something. I added a small square of chopped hersheys milk chocolate bar to the individual cups and a sprinkle of cinnamon. To give as a gift I would add (8oz) of milk chocolate chips to the entire recipe. And recommend sprinkling cinnamon on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
I too had to tweak this a bit for my own taste as follows: 11 cups dry milk powder 2 1/2-3 cups confectioners' sugar (to taste..after mixed try a cup if not sweet enough add more ) 1-1 1/2 C. cocoa powder 1 (32 ounce) container instant chocolate drink mix 1 (8 ounce) container powdered non-dairy Chocolate creamer 1 (8 ounce) container powdered non-dairy French Vanilla creamer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Best hot cocoa I have ever tasted! I always enjoy making it for my two teenage daughters, and they always enjoy drinking it! There is no comparison to this amazing hot cocoa mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I actually got this recipe from a friend when I lived in Korea and it is the absolute best Hot Chocolate. I always suggest that people tailor the recipe to their liking because some people like it sweeter than chocolate and vice versa. I usually use about a 1/4 cup of the mix in a cup of hot water and I add less milk. I need to try the flavored coffee creamer. Thanks for the suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
I thought the recipe was an easy and good recipe. I took hints from other reviews and added extra chocolate mix, and cocoa. I made it a "gourmet" chocolate mix by adding mini marshmallows and milk chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
I gave this recipe four stars because of how easy it is to make, the ingredients are readily available and also because of the previous reviews suggested changes. I'm not sure how good it would be without those tips. I too added more chocolate drink mix and some cocoa powder. Instead of using just plain non-dairy creamer, I mixed up two separate batches. In one I used half plain creamer and half Irish cream flavoured creamer (although I think it could have used more of the Irish cream flavour) and in the other I used half plain creamer and half hazelnut flavoured creamer. Both turned out really well and are very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
Maybe I did something wrong, but this recipe just didn't work at all for me. It tastes okay, but the mix just will not dissolve in hot water! I bought a lot of the ingredients at Costco, so if anyone has any hints for what to do with 5 pounds each of Quik and CoffeeMate, please let me know! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States