Hot Chicken Wing Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I made this Dip for an appetizer on thanksgiving. It was delicious. I do have one tip though. If your going to make it the night before to save oven space don't put the cheese on yet. Make the main part of the dip, put it away and then add the cheese on top the day your going to serve it.(Microwave it if you can't use the oven.) I wasn't thinking and I cooked it all the night before. The cheese was VERY hard, but the dip underneath was good. I think it would have been the best dip ever if the cheese was melted right before. Oh and DON'T add the full amount of hot sauce. I used half of what the recipe called for and it was spicy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jdunnican

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopatcong, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Vernon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Alright- I do it a bit different. Boil up chicken (I use a package, 3-4 breasts) shred. Add in about a cup of Franks Hot Sauce, then about a cup of Ranch dressing ( I do use the cheaper brand for this- doesn't seem to matter) 1/2 a package of finely shredded sharp cheddar and 1 package of cream cheese. Mix well and put in an 8x8 pan to bake for about 30 min at 350. Top with cheese and bake again until melted. Best with tortilla chips. Tastes GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
We have a similar recipe that you use chunk canned chicken and make it in a small crock pot. It is EXCELLENT if you like hotwings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I absolutely LOVE this dip...so does everyone else!! To simplify I just buy a small precooked whole chicken, shred it, and throw everything in the crockpot and let it melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Renz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I used my own dry ranch dressing mix that I made into ranch dressing using reduced fat sour cream and buttermilk. Other than that, I made no other changes. My three men loved this dip BUT my husband thought it could be a little less "drippy". He suggested I either cut back on the liquids a bit or add more chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This was an ABSOLUTE HIT at our Superbowl party this year. I did substitute the hot pepper sauce for Hooters Medium Heat Hot Wing Sauce and it was incredible! I will warn you, if you are looking for something healthy, don't try this one...it is full of fat, but that is just fine for us to have on special occasions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAnderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
The best dip recipe I have ever got from this site. My husband askes me to make this for every party/occation we have. The only change I have made is instead of 2 blocks of cream cheese, I use one block and 250ml of sour cream. I cut down the hot sauce depending on the crowd we are serving. Not everyone likes the heat like we do! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIANYA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Delicious! Spicy but not hot enough to knock your socks off. I did not want to mess with keeping a dip hot, so just layered everything in my crockpot and it turned out great. My husband wants me to make a double batch next time so he can hog it for himself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This recipe is awesome!!! I do make a lower fat version. I just replace the cream cheese with fat free and the ranch with light ranch..Taste Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Awesome dip - I've made it a few times and it is always a hit. I serve it with pita or bagel chips. I use blue cheese dressing as well as ranch and I mix in half of the cheddar before putting the rest on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazybusymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

PHILLY Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to put a quick-and-easy twist on buffalo wings.

Five-Star Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to make a dip that tastes just like chicken wings only without the mess.

Chef John's Buffalo Chicken Dip

See Chef John’s secrets for making the best game-day dip ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States