Hot Chicken Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I think that this is a 4 1/2 the way I made it. I didn't have water chestnuts, so I sauted 1/3 C chopped onions with celery in olive oil, added some garlic and then on the advice added a herb. TRY TARRAGON! It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I love this casserole, and so does my husband. It's a great one to make earlier in the day and pop in the oven just before dinner, too. I add a box of frozen chopped asparagas to the mix to add to the veggie content. Delicious, filling, and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Pretty good recipe. My husband loved it. He asked for more and more. I left out the water chestnuts because I didn't have any on hand. You can certainly vary this recipe to your liking. I seasoned the chicken with Season All before cooking and then added a little salt and pepper to the mixture before baking. I'll make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This was great! I didn't have cream of mushroom so I put in cream of celery. It was delicious! The best thing about this is you can add or take away something to make it how you want. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This satisfied all the picky eaters at the table. I like the water chestnut crunch in it. I used one more chicken breast and fresh mushrooms. I served with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
This is great! I did make a few changes though. I used Miracle Whip instead of mayonnaise (personal preference). I omitted the mushrooms and water chestnuts. As others suggested I used 3/4 cup shredded cheddar, 4 oz. of cream cheese, about a tsp. each of parsley, basil, garlic salt, pepper, salt. I used italian bread crumbs instead of crackers because I was out of crackers. I also added about a 1/3 cup of diced red bell pepper and onion which gave it a great zip! I cooked the bell pepper, celery, and onion together to soften up the veggies before going in the oven. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I had to tweak this a little due to lack of ingredients, I used Miracle Whip instead of Mayo, I only had 1/2 a can of cream of mushroom soup, so I added 3 oz. of Philadelphia cream cheese, my husband doesn't like water chestnuts, so I chopped 1 c. of celery and then for kickes I added 1 1/2 tsp. of horseradish and about the same of crushed garlic. It was DELICIOUS! I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeganM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
My daughter and I really liked this recipe but husband did not. He kept insisting I put nuts in the recipe? (I did not.) I even sauteed the celery first and eliminated the water chestnuts to keep the crunchy taste to a minimum. I have no idea where he was getting the nut thing?? I used onion crackers because that is what I had on hand. I made crescent rolls with it. My daughter loved dipping them into the chicken mixture. Will make again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Just made this tonight and I can't stop eating it. It is great. I did use suggestions of others, added a few shakes of basil & parsley, also added a shake of garlic salt. Added 1/2 block of low fat cream cheese cut into small pieces and about 3/4 c. shredded cheddar cheese. I didn't have cream of mushroom soup so I used low fat/low sodium cream of celery - taste was great. Also used low fat mayo. Will make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This tastes great and is SO easy. My husband loves it and it makes for a good dinner party dish. I doubled it and it still came out fantastic. All smiles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Warren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States