Hot Chicken Salad Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
Great stuff but made some adjustments (just trust me on this...the result is great!!). In addition to the chicken, I added 8oz shell noodles, cooked. For the sauce mix, I added 1/4 cup sour cream and 1 can cream of chicken and instead of water chesnuts, I added a jar of diced pimentos. The increase in the "substance" required me to increase in a sauce to prevent dryness! This is almost like a recipe my mom used to make and the addition of noodles/sauce allows it to go a long way! I have served this to my boyfriends family(not kidding, they ONLY eat meat and potatoes) and they grudgingly had to admit that they loved this too and she even requested the recipe (my jaw is still on the ground). Thanks for helping me find a lost recipe...even though I had to make some changes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
My husband is NOT a casserole man...BUT, when he had this his response was, "What was that casserole? That was really good!" 21 yo daughter said the same thing (but picked out the mushrooms) ;) Made it again and again and have had ladies asking for the recipe. This is great for a church fellowship dinner- pot luck style. I used more onions and chopped them rather than grated them. Great flavor. Also, used buttered bread crumbs for the topping (didn't have chips on hand). This is a hit that we will use over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMOMANY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2001
Excellent...it is. An original...it ain't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2001
i liked this a lot. it disappeared at a covered dish supper recently! i didn't use potato chips for the topping, however. i prefer crushed ritz crackers with butter as a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINELIZ821

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2001
This is a keeper! My husband loved it. My picky kids (ages 1 &3) opted for chicken fingers, but that goes for most every meal at our house. I love this recipe. It would be good to double and serve to a group of people or make for a potluck. It's fairly simple, and I have made it ahead and put it in the frig for dinner. My Pampered Chef food chopper chopped the chicken up really small, and I liked the texture of the casserole that way. I highly recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe for large groups. I served this to 20 women and they all loved it and they all went home wih the recipe that night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
This was excellent, I did add a small amount of cooked shell noodles. The water chestnuts add such a nice crunch. I am not a Mayo fan, so I did use Miracle Whip instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
Delicious and very easy!! I sprinkled the chicken with garlic powder, salt and pepper before cooking it on the stove in olive oil. I substituted cream of mushroom soup for the mayonnaise and canned mushrooms. My boyfriend and I are usually not big on leftovers, but we ate this dish for dinner, then lunch and dinner the next day and were sad to see it gone. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
SOOO Good. Had to make it a little simplier though... Here are my changes: 2 cans tyson chicken breast meat, no water chestnuts, sub 1 can of cream of chicken and mushroom soup for the mushrooms and mayo, 1/2 tsp dried minced onions instead of grated onion. I did chop my celery though..... Great easy recipe that makes the house smell awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Very good!! I I left out the almonds(didn't have any in the cupboard) and tripled the cheese. If was gone the same night!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States