Hot Chicken Salad Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This was SO good! I didn't have any potato chips so I used tostitos instead and it turned out excellent! If you do this, add less or no salt! I also added extra cheese. This is now a regular meal at our house, and I now add different veggies to it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ Food!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Very good with some changes: I added white rice (half cup uncooked, about a cup cooked); some garlic powder, about 1 tsp of hot sauce, substituted cream of broccoli soup for most of the mayo but did add about a tbsp of mayo as well. About a half cup of milk to keep it from being too dry. Some parsley flakes and a touch of dill and ground black pepper. I seasoned the chicken with poultry seasoning while cooking and like many of the reviewers incorporated some of the cheese right into the casserole and sprinkled a little on top. My husband, who hates water chestnuts, didn't even know they were there (I chopped them up very fine) but loved the overall crunch. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
i used leftover chicken salad for this and it turned out pretty good. i recommend adding spices but this is a good base recipe and something i wouldnt have thought of making on my own. i added worcestershire, cajun seasoning, a few dashes of hot sauce, and used french fried onions as the topping. i a m giving this 3 stars because my fav parts of it were the hard boiled eggs and french fried onion rings which werent even part of the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This was so fabulous! My hubby and mother-in-law loved it. I did customize...no mushrooms. I will make it again! And again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary GW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Natick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This was a delicious, comforting weeknight meal, and a great "use up" for prepared chicken, fridge, and pantry items. I made exactly as written, without chips on top, and it was great. Thanks for a nice recipe, Jane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Oh My, We just had this and it was sooo good. Here are my changes. Sauted the celery, onion (added more) and almonds (added more) for about 5 minutes with no butter in my nonstick pan. It makes the almonds more crunchy and softens the onions and celery a little. I diced the water chestnuts. My sauce was 1/4 cup lowfat mayo, and 1/2 cup yogurt, 1 can cream of chicken soup. I sprinkled it with curry powder and garlic salt. I topped with crushed corn flakes. Was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I didn't add the water chestnuts, mushrooms, and almonds. I added more onion, about a 1/2 cup finely chopped, then sauteed the onion and the celery until slightly softened. I also added black pepper and garlic powder. Served it along side crusty french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This was quite good, but I found it to be a bit dry. I followed the recipe as written, but next time I will add a can of cream of something soup to make it a little creamier. I will also likely add 1/4 cup of sour cream per another reviewer's suggestion. I think this dish could easily rate a 5 with a couple of small alterations. Thanks for the recipe! By the way, when I told my husband what I was making, he turned down his nose and told me only liked cold chicken salad. He's changed his tune entirely after eating this recipe, dry and all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
awesome recipe. my dad hates chicken salad, but he absolutely loved this. I used pepperidge farm original crackers and crumbled them on top. i also used a mexican mix cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
This is an old favorite of my family and I just love it. I used thick, kettle cut potato chips. Served with grilled corn on the cob, YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States