Hot Chai Latte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
Delicious! I just added 1/4-1/2 teaspoon of ginger and a couple of cardamom pods to make it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
A chai recipe with no cardamom? I understand that everybody likes their chai different, but that's a staple for me. Also, I would simmer the spices for a while before adding the tea. The spices just need to cook in there a little longer in order for them to be strong enough. Having the tea in there that long makes for bitter drinking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
This tasted pretty good. It was a little weak for my tastes though, so I doubled the amount of spices in it and added a pinch or so of cardamom for flavor. To have a more authentic tasting chai, sweeten this with honey. This is far cheaper than the drinks you can buy at coffee shops, and tastes nearly the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
Good recipe a bit too sweet for me. I opted out of the orange peel and next time I'll put less sugar. Also, I threw in a few cardomom pods and they sealed the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama & her Girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Khobar, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I'm drinking it right now and all I can say is AWESOME!!! I had to make some substitutions, because I didn't have some of the ingredients called for and I was craving some Chai like I had at a home tasting party. I used a clementine peel, a small pinch of ground cloves, about 3/4 tsp of ground cinnamon, a bit of fresh coarse ground pepper, and two decaffeinated tea bags as my substitutes. The other ingredients I used were exactly as the recipe called for. I always make substitutes in recipes if I want something and don't have everything here! This chai is just perfect. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockwood, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I thought this reciepe would be a hit. It was good, but not as good as I thought I'd be. Next time I will definatly keep the lid on becuase it evaporated a lot! I will also add a little more spices than the recipe calls for, and with those few changes I think it'll turn out great. Also a few hints: I used ground cloves and a black tea tea bag instead. Over all this chai gave me a morning kick. thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bath, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
A great recipe! Instead of sugar I used a little honey for extra flavor and less sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ingrid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
I started to make this recipe and then realized I was out of black tea leaves. OOPS! I used 1½ cups water, ½ cup whole milk, 5 whole cloves, 1 fat cinnamon stick, 2 pinches of nutmeg, between 4 and 5 tsp of sugar, and about 1½ TBS instant tea. I omitted the orange peel and the peppercorns, and I added in 2 allspice berries. It turned out as a 4 (nice, but mild in flavor... I prefer the dry Chai Tea Mix by Jo) but it would probably be a 5 if I had used black tea leaves instead of the instant tea, so I'm rating it as a 5! My 3-year old enjoys it, too. Thanks, Riley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I have never had "real" chai, but I thought this was delicious, and it is a keeper. Nice change of pace from regular coffee or tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crayn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This is very good and so easy to customize to your preferences. I usually find a Chai Latte too sweet, so I only added half the sugar and it was just right. I simmered skim milk, water, and all the spices for about 30 minutes total COVERED except the black tea which I added for the last 5-10 minutes. Even though I covered this, I still ended up with just one serving. I substituted 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon for the cinnamon stick...next time I'll up that to 1/2 tsp. I'd recommend using a Constant Comment tea bag for the loose black tea...it's black tea that is already flavored with rind of oranges and spice, so it just enhances the flavor a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make a Latte

See how easy it is to make your favorite espresso drink at home.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States