Hot Chai Latte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
Good recipe a bit too sweet for me. I opted out of the orange peel and next time I'll put less sugar. Also, I threw in a few cardomom pods and they sealed the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama & her Girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Khobar, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
This tasted pretty good. It was a little weak for my tastes though, so I doubled the amount of spices in it and added a pinch or so of cardamom for flavor. To have a more authentic tasting chai, sweeten this with honey. This is far cheaper than the drinks you can buy at coffee shops, and tastes nearly the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I have never had "real" chai, but I thought this was delicious, and it is a keeper. Nice change of pace from regular coffee or tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crayn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I thought this reciepe would be a hit. It was good, but not as good as I thought I'd be. Next time I will definatly keep the lid on becuase it evaporated a lot! I will also add a little more spices than the recipe calls for, and with those few changes I think it'll turn out great. Also a few hints: I used ground cloves and a black tea tea bag instead. Over all this chai gave me a morning kick. thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bath, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
This was delicious and more festive than other recipes. It is 45 degrees here tonight, 20 degrees cooler than usual, this hit the spot! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
Delicious! I just added 1/4-1/2 teaspoon of ginger and a couple of cardamom pods to make it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I'm drinking it right now and all I can say is AWESOME!!! I had to make some substitutions, because I didn't have some of the ingredients called for and I was craving some Chai like I had at a home tasting party. I used a clementine peel, a small pinch of ground cloves, about 3/4 tsp of ground cinnamon, a bit of fresh coarse ground pepper, and two decaffeinated tea bags as my substitutes. The other ingredients I used were exactly as the recipe called for. I always make substitutes in recipes if I want something and don't have everything here! This chai is just perfect. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockwood, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
I started to make this recipe and then realized I was out of black tea leaves. OOPS! I used 1½ cups water, ½ cup whole milk, 5 whole cloves, 1 fat cinnamon stick, 2 pinches of nutmeg, between 4 and 5 tsp of sugar, and about 1½ TBS instant tea. I omitted the orange peel and the peppercorns, and I added in 2 allspice berries. It turned out as a 4 (nice, but mild in flavor... I prefer the dry Chai Tea Mix by Jo) but it would probably be a 5 if I had used black tea leaves instead of the instant tea, so I'm rating it as a 5! My 3-year old enjoys it, too. Thanks, Riley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This is a great Chai! Not like the coffee shops near me, but a good substitute! I don't care for milk, I used soy instead. The soy really brought out the flavor in the spices! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BC ByH2O
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Tastes really good but I found that it was a bit grainy. Would recommend straining through fine strainer before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BC ByH2O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

Spicy Pumpkin Spice Latte

See how easy it is to make your favorite fall latte at home.

How to Make a Latte

See how easy it is to make your favorite espresso drink at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States