Hot Caramel Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
We all loved this dessert. For us, it was a little on the sweet side even though I used granny smith apples, but that may be because I couldn't find the red-hot candies at the market and substituted extra cinnamon mixed with the brown sugar. I would just use a little less brown sugar the next time. We tried it both ways, with vanilla ice cream and whipped cream. We preferred the dessert with the ice cream as the whipped cream melted very quickly. I drizzled just a little caramel sauce on top to dress it up. This would be perfect for company, put it together and forget it until it’s time to serve to guests. The dessert was ready in four hours. We all agreed this definitely deserves five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This is a keeper. I followed the recipe except for the apple juice. I didn't have any on hand so I used apple sauce. I think it made the sauce thicker than juice would have and the result was delicious. Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I'm new to cooking. I had problems decoring the apples and then I didn't cook them long enough :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trsweetheart
Living In: Danville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
YUM, YUM, YUM!! I didn't peel the apples, and chopped them into bite sized pieces; used apricot nectar that i had on hand instead of apple juice that i didn't; and increased the caramels to 12 because we love caramel. i also added a pinch of sea salt. the first thing i did was put everything in the crock pot except the candies and apples and turned it on high to start the butter melting--then i prepared the apples. i added the apple chunks and stirred them in the liquid; stirred in the candies, and turned the temp to low. i checked on them at 2 1/2 hrs, and they were PERFECT for us--the apples were completely soft, but hadn't started to fall apart yet. there is a lot of sauce and it is thin, but so delicious that i think we won't have any problem finding a use for it--maybe over ice cream! this is absolutely a keeper for my family--there is already talk about cooking it at every holiday meal!! it was really sweet, so i think i'll probably use a little less sugar next time even tho everyone liked it like it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by watergirl40

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Haughton, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
The sauce was watery, but the flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ Food!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Excellent! I made this several times. I like to slice the apples and mix everything in the CP together to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This recipe did not turn out. The flavor was ok, but the apples turned to mush & it did not look appetizing. The caramels looked terrible, dried, just yuck. I def think the cooking time is off. I will stick to baked apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
4 stars for how easy this is to make. 3 stars for the flavor -- I want more caramel flavor without having to reduce the juice. Soooo... 3.5 stars if I could rate it that way. Regarding mushiness: When I first made this, I checked the apples at about 3 hours, and they were almost ready -- I used a knife to test them. Then I lost track of time and cooked them another hour. They ended up mushy, so much I had to serve them in spoonfuls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fall City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
In response to Jenny's comment about mushy apples, it may very likely be the type of apple used that caused the problem. It really makes a difference what apple you use for what purpose. Arkansas Black, Baldwin, Braeburn, Cameo, Cortland, Criterion, Elstar, Gala, Granny Smith, Gravenstein, Ida Red, Jersey Mac, Jonagold, Jonathan, Newtown Pippin, Paulare, Pink Lady, Rhode Island Greening, Rolfe, Rome, Spartan, and Winesap are all good baking apples which tend to hold their shape when cooked. Hopefully, you ought to be able to find at least one of these varieties in your area. Baldwin and Winesap have a sort of spicy character. Most have a tangy-sweet flavor that ought to go very well in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marian Bunnell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I may have done something wrong but the cooking time seems way too long. My apples were mushy and all of the juice of the apples pooled on the bottom of the crock. I think a much shorter cooking time would be way better. Maybe my crock cooks too hot, even on low? Next time I would add more red hots and cut the holes bigger to fit it all in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States