Hot Buttered Yum Chex® Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I made this and it was FANTASTIC! But, having made my own chex mix at the holiday times for many years I was skeptical of doing this in the micro. I did mine in the oven (250') for 15 min. then stir then 15 min. then let cool 5 - 10 min. and add mallows. I made a 4x batch so there would be plenty to share and other reviewers are correct it needs nuts, mine had pecans. A HELPFUL HINT for any chex/snack mix recipe that you do in your oven, if you like to do large batches like I do find the biggest stainless steel bowl that will fit in your oven and just use that for your whole batch at one time instead of having to do 4-5 sessions with a cookie tray. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Wow! This recipe rocked! I added pecans and almonds and didn't do the marshmallows. It smells like a wonderful pie baking in the oven. I chose to bake at 250 degrees for 45 minutes. Stirring every 15 minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I made this for Christmas baskets and it was a hit! A little extra rum flavoring is even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Sparks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eldon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Wow I love this for the Christmas Holiday! I used an additional 2 cups of honey nut chex cereal and added Gingerbread flavored Marshallows instead of plain, then tossed in 2 cups of raisins. Rum raisin! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymberleeJan Lucas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This was absolutely delicious! It was sweet yet also salty, chewy but also crunchy. I added 2 cups pretzels, subbed vanilla extract instead of rum, and doubled the batch to bring in for my class Christmas party. It sat untouched next to the puppy chow. So later I brought it to Spanish club to share. It didn't exactly fit next to the chips and salsa but they LOVED it. The whole bag was gone by the end of an hour. Thanks for the awesome chex mix recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
It became very soggy and sticky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Very yummy and easy! I added in some mini pretzels to add some saltiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyjojo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Yummy stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is delicious! I substituted vanilla for the rum (personal preference) and it is very yummy. The aromas of the spices are wonderful too!! I think I like what the other reviewers said too, about adding pretzels/nuts -- that would give it a salty/sweet taste. I'll try that next time!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This is yummy! Second batch I added 1 c. pretzels & 1 c. dry roasted peanuts for some added texture & crunch. I think mixed nuts would also work nicely. I took this to a Caroling & Cocoa church function & got lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet 'n' Hot Glazed Salmon

See how to make simple broiled salmon with a sweet and spicy glaze.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States