Hot Buttered Rum Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I serve this every christmas. I also double butter and use half the sugar. I put the frozen mix and water in a double boiler on my stovetop. It stays hot and then my guests ladle what they want into a cup and add spiced rum if they want. I also add cinnamon and nutmeg, and have fresh ground nutmeg for them to sprinkle on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Excellent with double butter and less sugar. Also added orange zest and was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This is easy and so good! We make it every holiday season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I really liked this. I made it exactly as written. It was really sweet, but tasty. I do think that next time I will follow the recommendation of the other reviews and use more butter and less sugar. I think that would be better. I had never had Hot Buttered Rum before and I think that this was a nice, delicious introduction to this holiday treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forestville, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Very lovely. Not heavy like an eggnog drink or even Bailey's, but still creamy tasting. Have never had a hot buttered rum before so I have nothing to compare it to. I am not a hard liquor drinker so I was worried about how rum would taste. I got a premium dark rum and was pleasantly surprised by the flavour of this warm treat. It's a very mellow tasting drink.I did as others have, using half the amount of sugar, and I halved the recipe. I also only used 1 TBSP of the rum. That's perhaps why I enjoyed the "mellow" flavour. The nutmeg sprinkle on top adds just a little touch of holiday flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Dawn
Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This is similar to the recipe I've used for thirty years. I use 1 pound of butter, 1 pound of each sugars and a quart of vanilla ice cream. I always add nutmeg after it's mixed for added flavor. The kids like it just mixed in either hot milk or water so it works for all ages!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I found the recipes to sweet so I added the whole half gallon of ice cream and added cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves to my taste. My husband said it tastes like a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckygunnells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA
Living In: Cle Elum, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This is by far the best Hot Buttered Rum mix I have ever had! I too, used 1 pound of butter. I like to add some of the nutmeg to the foam after mixing the drink together. It is delicious with vanilla rum as well. I added a shot of espresso too and it is like heaven in a cup! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Yum! I think the ice cream has to be melted, because when I added the ice cream to the butter/sugar mixture when it was just softened, it froze up the butter. But just tried it with Captain Morgan and it's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Crazy sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States