Hot Buttered Rum Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
FREEZE THE MIX INTO ICE CUBE TRAYS. Spray the trays well with unflavored cooking spray (don't use butter flavored) and spoon in the mix. When they are frozen solid, drop the "cubes" into a heavy duty zipper top bag and store in the freezer. Eliminates the mess of scoops and drips, and adjust the number of cubes in your drink based on the size of your trays. Dishwasher your trays in very hot water to remove the spray, or put them in the sink and poor boiling water over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
this recipe is great. Except I use l lb butter and also add 1 Tbls each of nutmeg, cinnamon,& cloves. Can't believe what a difference it makes to the overall flavor. Pat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
This recipe is really good but I find that it is difficult to get people to try it at a party because the mix can get very hard to scoop when it has been frozen for a long time and people bypass it when they see that it takes three steps (scoop mix, add rum, add cider) because they think it's too much of a hassle. I simplified the serving process by pre-scooping the mix into styrofoam cups and keeping them in the freezer. That way guests could just grab a cup of mix from the freezer and add the rum and cider instead of wrestling with the ice cream scoop. Instead of using water, I used a mixture of 4 parts water and 1 part apple cider. I think this is a great recipe for a party because people add their own alcohol so it helps non-drinkers blend in with the other guests and they don't have to advertise the fact they aren't drinking alcohol. Kids also really liked it - they started calling it "Hogwarts's Butter Beer" after Harry Potter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I took the suggestions of others & almost doubled the amount of butter & then decreased the amount of sugars by half. I also added cinnamon, nutmeg & cloves (about a tsp. each) It was really good w/ rum but it is outstanding in coffee. I can't wait to try it in warm apple cider!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2000
have been looking for this recipe for ages, only thing that has been left out is cinnamon,cloves and nutmeg, and I use a full pound of butter and a quart of gourmet vanilla ice cream. be very carefull of these they go down so smooth!!! is best if u use old bushmills as the whiskey in it, or just add hot waterand the kids will love it with all the flavors!!!! But this is a favorite of mine sat Christmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
This was a big hit at this year's holiday party! I just had to make sure to put enough of the mixture, and not too much hot water. Dark rum is definitely better than light, as well. Overall, fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This was excellent at my holiday party. I used reviewers' suggestions and included 1 lb of butter and extra spices (ground cloves, nutmeg, cinnamon, allspice). I do agree that less sugar would still be good and that this is excellent in hot chocolate for people who prefer not to drink alcohol (or for kids). We used the ice cream scoop to serve, but it was still a little drippy and messy, so be prepared to clean your freezer after the party or put tinfoil down under the container first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
This recipe has been in our family for years also- it is always a hit! I also add nutmeg and cinnamon to the mix as well as garnish with a sprinkle of nutmeg and a cinnamon stick. Also, try with 1/2 Reg Rum and 1/2 Myers Dark Rum. Really warms you up!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
Way too sweet! Cut the sugar in half, and it will be 5 stars. I also used the suggestion of using Gourmet Ice Cream, and added cinnamon as well. Sinfully delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Kemp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Balgonie, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Theresa
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
We enjoyed this recipe and will need to make another batch for the freezer soon! Definately use Meyers Dark Rum. Its not as good with captain morgan rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wales, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States