Hot Buttered Rum Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I thought this seemed a bit weird and tried the recipe a little reluctantly and only after reading the reviews. My husband after he saw me pour the hot water over it commented that it was probably going to be gross. Wow...we really liked this recipe, probably a little too much. It is a wonderful adult cold weather beverage to relax with. It is so convenient too since you make the mixture beforehand and it lasts for a little while in the freezer. We love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Yum! I made this using half the powdered sugar, but it was still great. We sprinkled a little cinnamon on top which made for a pretty presentation. We're going to bring it along to share on Christmas. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I don't cook at all, and when I served this to my husband and guests, they were like, "That seems wierd." But then they all loved it and wanted me to make more. Go figure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I took the suggestions of others & almost doubled the amount of butter & then decreased the amount of sugars by half. I also added cinnamon, nutmeg & cloves (about a tsp. each) It was really good w/ rum but it is outstanding in coffee. I can't wait to try it in warm apple cider!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This was great...reduced both sugars(each by 1/3) and it was still sweet enough for me and guests. Used spiced rum and served it in cappucino cups - A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This recipe is a great parting gift for a holiday dinner party. It can be made ahead of time and kept in the freezer until the end of the party and as your guests are leaving, you can hand them a Mason Jar with a nice ribbon around the lid and a computer generated label with directions on the front of the jar. It's also nice to serve the recipe at the dinner party so they get an idea of what it tastes like. I have done this twice so far, to rave reviews and endless thank you's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This was excellent at my holiday party. I used reviewers' suggestions and included 1 lb of butter and extra spices (ground cloves, nutmeg, cinnamon, allspice). I do agree that less sugar would still be good and that this is excellent in hot chocolate for people who prefer not to drink alcohol (or for kids). We used the ice cream scoop to serve, but it was still a little drippy and messy, so be prepared to clean your freezer after the party or put tinfoil down under the container first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Yum!! This is simple to make and is delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi Janssen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
This is fabulous! So much better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Wonderful!! It makes a lot but, with the help of some friends, I think we will be able to use it all up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States