Hot Buttered Rum Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I made this recipe several years ago to bring to a New Years Eve party and everyone loved it, but I lost my recipe! I was so happy to find it here. Made it again this year for Christmas and everyone loved it. You can also add this to a cup of hot coffee which is how I like it. Thanks for the recipe Kevin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Delicious! A hot buttered rum drink for people who think they don't like hot buttered rum! Half the recipe for a more manageable amount. I agree with others about adding butter. Spices are good either added in or sprinkled on top. As for it being too sweet, I disagree that the mix itself is too sweet, BUT would suggest just using 1T. of mix (instead of the recommended 2T) with a shot of rum. I'm about ready to go and get a second cup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Wow this was great! Everyone loved it. I would recomend sharing though - it makes a LARGE batch, way too much for our gathering of 12. After reading other reviews I will try the 1 lb of butter instead of 1 cup - maybe it will blend better with the sugar and not be so lumpy. Not for one on a diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
A delicious concoction that will make you smile and warm your tummy. I made sure to use good quality vanilla ice cream and of course unsalted butter. Try this one, you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodieGal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Wow! I made this a couple years ago for our annual revolving "Cousin Christmas Party" my stop was hot buttered rum and finger foods. Everybody loved it, and I packaged the rest up, as it does make a big batch, to take to other holiday get togethers as hostess gifts. I used Schwans holiday vanilla ice cream, you know the one in the tin, I don't know if it made a difference, but.....wow! We used Captian Morgan and/or Crown Royal for the kick, in hot water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I served this for a holiday party and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
Bland and too sweet. Big waste of time and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
This was a big hit at this year's holiday party! I just had to make sure to put enough of the mixture, and not too much hot water. Dark rum is definitely better than light, as well. Overall, fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Excellent for parties. This was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Very easy to make, but makes a *large* amount--I had a half-gallon container full of the mix when I was finished with the recipe. It will have to be thrown out before it will be finished since you only use 2 heaping tablespoons of mix per cup. Will definitely make again, but will scale down the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States